Kohima District Map

Click any District on the map and get the detailed District Map

District Map of Kohima

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Kohima Kohima City Map ASSAM Dimapur District Peren District MANIPUR Phek District Zunheboto District Wokha District
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*The Map showing major roads, national highways, boundaries, headquarter and major towns of Kohima district, Nagaland. Disclaimer

Kohima is one of the important seats of administration in the north eastern region of India. The district remained the headquarters of the Naga Hill District of Assam since 1879. With the establishment of the state of Nagaland, Kohima was nominated as the state capital. It is one of the most developed districts of Nagaland.
The Kohima district is located between the geographical coordinates of 25.40° North Latitude and 94.08° East Longitude. The total area covered by the district along with the district of Dimapur is 1041 square kilometers. The district of Phek was carved out of Kohima in the year 1973 while the district of Dimapur was demarcated as a separate district in the year 1998. Kohima is bordered on the west by the state of Assam and on the east by the districts of Zunheboto and Phek. The district of Wokha lies to the north of Kohima while Manipur state borders the district on the south. According to the census of 2001, the population of the district stands at 314,366. The district, being the home of multiple ethnic groups has a cosmopolitan culture. The Zeliangrong, Angami and Rengma communities are the predominant tribes who reside in Kohima. The hilly district of Kohima rests at an elevated altitude of 1444 m above sea level experiencing distinct seasonal changes. The district receives an average annual rainfall of 2000 mm. The winters are severe with occasional snowfalls. The summer lasts for a few months. The district is reputed to possess the biggest police headquarters in the north eastern region of India.

The district of Kohima is well connected by the National Highway 39 to Dimapur which is the nearest rail and air head. Dimapur is situated at a distance of 74 kilometers from the city of Kohima.

Last Updated on 25 January 2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations