Districts of Uttarakhand

Almora District Map Bageshwar District Map Chamoli District Map Champawat District Map
Almora District MapBageshwar District MapChamoli District MapChampawat District Map
Dehradun District Map Haridwar District Map Nainital District Map Garhwal District Map
Dehradun District MapHaridwar District MapNainital District MapGarhwal District Map
Pithoragarh District Map Rudraprayag District Map Tehri Garhwal District Map Udhamsinghnagar District Map
Pithoragarh District MapRudraprayag District MapTehri Garhwal District MapUdhamsinghnagar District Map
Uttarkashi District Map
Uttarkashi District Map
Uttarakhand , a hill state in north India, is spread over 58,484 square kilometers. The state is located between 30° 33' N and 78°06' E. Uttaranchal is bounded by Himachal Pradesh in the west and by Uttar Pradesh in the south.
The state shares an international boundary with two countries; in the north with China, and in the east with Nepal.

Most of Uttaranchal falls in the southern slopes of the Himalayas, but it also has some areas in the plains. The plain areas are called the Terai. About 64% of the state is forested.

The state has two divisions of Garhwal and Kumaon, and is further divided into thirteen districts. The districts which fall in Garhwal division are Dehradun, Haridwar, Chamoli, Rudraprayag, Tehri Garhwal, Uttarkashi, and Pauri Garhwal. These districts have some of the highest Himalayan peaks located here. The districts which are a part of Kumaon division are Almora, Nainital, Pithoragarh, Udham Singh Nagar, Bageshwar, and Champawat. Most of the tourist hill towns in the state are located in the Kumaon Division.

Uttarkashi district, in the Himalayas, is the home of the source of two most important rivers in the country-the Ganges and the Yamuna. The Hindu pilgrim points of Char Dham fall in this district. Udham Singh Nagar district lies in the Terai plains. The famous Jim Corbett Tiger reserve is located in the Nainital district. The world Heritage Nanda Devi Park is located in Chamoli district.

The state capital is at Dehradun. Other important towns and district headquarters are Nainital, Haridwar, and Almora. Dehradun is an important rail connection for the entire state as it lies on the route of the Northern Railway line. For the Kumaon division, Kathgodam town is the last terminus of the broad gauge line for the North eastern railways.

The state has airports in Dehradun in Dehradun district and Pant Nagar in Udham Singh Nagar District.

List of Districts in Uttarakhand

Sr. No.DistrictDistrict HQPopulation (2011)GrowthSex RatioLiteracyArea (km2)Density (/km2)
8Pauri GarhwalPauri687271-1.41%110382.025438129
11Tehri GarhwalNew Tehri6189312.35%107776.364085169
12Udham Singh NagarRudrapur164890233.45%92073.12912648

Last Updated on : August 25, 2014



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations