Indian Army Commands and their headquarters

Eastern Command

Eastern Command

Headquarters: Kolkata, West Bengal

The Eastern Command of the Indian Army was formed in 1920 when the Army had four commands – Southern Command, Eastern Command, Northern Command, and Western Command. Prior to 1 May 1963, Lucknow was chosen as the headquarter of the Eastern Command. However, when Central Command was re-established, Lucknow was made the headquarter of Central Command instead. Now, at present, the Eastern Command has its headquarters in Kolkata, West Bengal and Lieutenant General Manoj Mukund Naravane is serving as the current commander of the Eastern Command.

Subordinate units of Eastern command are –

  • 23rd Infantry Division – Ranchi
  • III Corps – Dimapur
  • IV Corps – Tezpur
  • XXXIII Corps – Siliguri
  • XVII Corps – Panagarh