Bihar Elections: Poll Bigul Baj Gaya

Polling dates in Bihar Image

Polling dates in Bihar Image

Bihar ka Poll Bigul Baj Gaya! Government announces Polling dates in Bihar. The voting shall take place in phases and the dates are:




12 October (Monday)

1 49

16 October (Friday)

2 32

28 October (Wednesday)

3 50

1 November (Sunday)

4 55

5 November (Thursday)

5 57

The counting shall begin on Sunday, 8 November.

From today till the poll results are announced, watch this column for incisive poll analysis that will cover interesting aspects of the election battle in Bihar.

To ensure free and fair elections, the Central government plans to deploy 50,000 paramilitary forces in Bihar.

 Political Overview of Bihar in 2015

  • Total Constituencies: 243 [General Category: 203 ; Scheduled Castes: 38 ; Scheduled Tribes: 2]

  • Number of Polling Stations: 62,779

 Major Parties in Alliance:

  • BJP + LJP + RLSP + HAM

  • JD(U) + RJD + INC

 List of the Main Political Parties in Fray during the 2010 Assembly Polls:

  • Janata Dal (United) – JD(U)

  • Bharatiya Janata Party – (BJP)

  • Rashtriya Janata Dal – RJD

  • Indian National Congress – INC

  • Lok Jan Shakti Party – LJP

  • National Congress Party – NCP

  • Samajwadi Party – SP

  • Bahujan Samaj Party – BSP

  • Communist Party of India – CPI

  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) – CPM

  • Janata Dal (Secular) – JDS

  • Jharkhand Mukti Morcha – JMM

  • Jharkhand Vikas Morcha – Prajatantrik – JVM

  • All India Forward Block – AIFB

  • Revolutionary Socialist Party – RSP

  • Shiv Sena – SHS

Poll performance of the political parties during 2010 Assembly polls




Vote Share


141 115 22.58%


102 91 16.49%



6 13.22%



4 8.37%



3 6.74%



1 1.69%



1 0.61%


  • Number of Contestants: 3523

  • Male contestants: 3216;      Elected: 209

  • Female contestants: 307;   Elected: 34

  • Forfeited deposits: 3019                 Male: 2777;   Female: 242

  • Average Contestants per Constituency: 14

  • Number of polling stations: 58,694

  • Average number of electors per polling station: 939

 So who is going to rule in 2015?

The political temperature in Bihar is rising and all alliances and political parties are in a huddle working out the numbers based on various equations of caste, male-female voter profile and local agendas.

BJP has left no stone unturned and is giving it all it’s got. This battle has Narendra Modi’s reputation at stake. Starting from the grand announcement of Rs 1.25 lakh crore special package for Bihar to announcing 6% DA release for all central government employees just before the poll announcement to the timely release of the census data on religion are all aimed at getting that mindshare advantage in one of the most important polls to be fought since the Narendra Modi-led government took over.

Alliance partners in the BJP camp are still waiting for the final seat share announcement but can do little at this stage but wait. Neither Ram Vilas Paswan nor Upendra Kushwaha is the kind to play second fiddle but in the absence of their own strength, they have little choice but to let BJP call the shots. Upendra Kushwaha announced yesterday that he had left the seat sharing formula to the BJP high command. Jiten Manjhi too is in the same boat but is hoping to get the nod for the CM’s post on account of his Dalit – Mahadalit vote bank. As in earlier state polls, the BJP is continuing to withhold the name of its Chief Ministerial candidate till the results are announced.

The other camp the secular alliance comprising of JD(U), RJD and Congress have already announced Nitish Kumar as their candidate. Mulayam Singh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party is going to fight the elections alone but post polls, it is likely to offer support to the JD(U)-RJD-Congress camp, as it is unlikely to side with the BJP. Mulayam Singh has traditionally had the support from the Muslims and he would not like to risk this by joining the BJP camp. However, if the BJP-led alliance comes up with a strong showing, he may well do a 180 degree turn and offer support.

Stay tuned in for more action as it unfolds in Bihar.

 Read Related Information:
Bihar Elections 2015
Bihar Election Updates
Bihar Election Dates
Candidate List for Bihar Assembly Elections 2015
List of Assembly Constituencies of Bihar
Bihar Election Results
Political Parties of Bihar
Who will be the next Chief Minister of Bihar?
List of Chief Ministers (CM) of Bihar
Government and Politics of Bihar
List of Governors of Bihar
Bihar Map