Shimla Government and Politics

Shimla government and politics have played a major role over the years in the planned and organized development of the district of Shimla. Shimla's government has always been very supportive in upholding the economy of Shimla. The government and politics of Shimla has helped the hill station to develop into a major tourism industry. The government of Shimla has chalked out such policies and programmes that has been a heavy boost to the economic development of the region.

The major political parties of Shimla are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. The Chief minister of the place is his excellency Mr.Raja Virbhadra Singh belonging to the Congress party. He has been bestowed with the responsibilities of general administration, home department, finance department, public works department, tribal development and so on.

Shimla Municipal Corporation has been given the responsibility of the administration. It is composed of 27 councilors. About 33% of the seats have been kept reserved for the women. The commissioner is the administrative head of the body. The police department maintains the law and order of the city. There are altogether eleven courts in the Shimla district.

The other personnel engaged in various administrative department of the government of Shimla are:
  • Smt Vidya Stokes MPP and Power Minister- Departments conferred on her includes non conventional energy sources, environment and pollution control, science and technology and biotechnology.
  • Shri Kaul Singh Thakur, Irrigation and Public Health Minister- Urban development and parliamentary affairs
  • Shri Sat Mahajan, Revenue Minister- Panchayati Raj and rural development.
  • Shri Rangila Ram Rao, Excise and Taxation Minister- Social justice and empowerment
  • Shri Ram Lal Thakur, Forest Minister- Youth services and sports, election department.
  • Shri Raj Krishan Gaur, Agriculture Minister- Labor and employment
  • Shri Kuldeep Kumar, Industries Minister- Cooperation
  • Shri Singhi Ram, Horticulture Minister- Food, civil supplies and consumer affairs department.
  • Shri Harsh Mahajan, Animal Husbandry Minister- Fisheries and housing department.
  • Shri GS Bali- Transport Minister- Tourism and civil aviation department.
The government and politics of Shimla also has taken the urge to convert the hill resort into a healthy tourism destination by building more health centers at Shimla.

Last Updated on : 4/26/2012

  Related Links