Gujarat Thermal Power Plants

One of the leading industrial states of India, Gujarat has been ranked second in overall performance in the power sector in India. Gujarat has 23 power plans of which 9 are thermal power plants.

The state has been successful in attracting numerous private players to the power sector, which is believed to help many. The installed capacity of Gujarat in the year 2009 was estimated to be 11636 MW, out of which Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd (GSECL) produced 6107 MW, 2852 MW was generated by the private sector while the Central sector generated 2677 MW.

Gujarat Thermal Power Plants Map

Gujarat Thermal Power Plants Map
Email   Buy Now
*Map of Gujarat showing all the major thermal power plants located in the state of Gujarat.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

Although a power scarcity state, yet Gujarat boasts of an assortment of some of the premier power generating companies. Some of these are Tata Power Ltd, Adani Torrent Power Ltd, Power Ltd, NTPC Ltd and Essar Power Ltd etc.

Gujarat is gifted with oil, lignite, gas reserves and renewable power generation sources consisting of solar power, geo and wind thermal power, water-based power, etc. The state of Gujarat also has an atomic power plant located in the south of Kakrapar near Surat. The plant has a power generating capacity of 440 MW.

Gujarat houses some of the leading thermal power plants. The Gujarat thermal power plants meet the demands for thermal energy in the state. Some of the Gujarat thermal power stations are listed below:

Vatwa Combained Cycle Power Plant (Gas based)
Torrent Power
AEC Ltd.,
GIDC, Phase IV,

Surat Lignite Power Plants
Nani Naroli
Taluka : Mangrol
Distt Surat

Essar Power Limited (Essar GT)
27th KM, Surat
Hazira Road

Akrimota Thermal Power Station
Gujarat Mineral Development Co Ltd.
Village: Cheer
Nani Tal: Lakhpat Distt.-Kutch

Dhuvaran CCPP
Distt. Anand

Wanakbori Thermal Power Station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.
Dist :Kheda
Gujarat -388239

Kawas Gas Power Project
P.O: Aditya Nagar,
Dist: Surat
Gujarat Pin: 394 516

Sikka Thermal Power Station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.
Distt. Jam Nagar
Gujarat- 361141

Kutch Lignite Thermal Power Station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.
SKV Nagar Tal
Gujarat- 3700601

Sabarmati Thermal Power Station
Torrent Power AEC Limited

Gandhi Nagar Thermal Power Station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.
Gandhi Nagar
Gujarat- 382041

Dhuvaran Combined Cycle Power Plant
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.
Gujarat- 388610

Gujarat Industries Power Co.Ltd.
P.O. Petrochemicals
Gujarat- 391346

Jhanor Gandhar Gas Power Project
P.O: Urja Nagar
Dist: Bharuch

Gujarat Paguthan Energy Corporation Pvt. Ltd.
Bharuch-Palej Road,
Gujarat- 392015

Utran Gas based power station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation. Ltd.
Gujarat- 394105

HAZIRA 156.1 MW Gas based Power Station
Gujarat State Energy Generation Ltd.
Village Mora,
Post Bhatha, Surat
Hazira Road,
Gujarat- 394510

Ukai Thermal Power Station
Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd.,
Taluka -Sonegarh Distt. Surat

Gandhinagar Thermal Power Station

Jhanor-Gandhar Thermal Power Station

Kawas Thermal Power Station

Kutch Lignite Thermal Power Station

Sabarmati Thermal Power Station (Private)

Sikka Thermal Power Station

Ukai Thermal Power Station
Ukai dam

Wanakbori Thermal Power Station

Upcoming Gujarat Thermal Power Plants

GSECL (395 MW)
Dhuvaran District Anand, Gujarat

Videocon Industries Ltd (2 x 800 MW)
Pipavav, Amreli, Gujarat

GSECL (800 MW)
Wanakabori TPS District Kheda

Gujarat Industries Power Co. Ltd (2 x 300 MW)
Khareda near Mosali, Taluka: Mangrol,

Vadinar Power Company Ltd (500 MW)
Vadinar Khambalia Taluka,
Jamnagar District, Gujarat

GSECL (2 x 250 MW)
Sikka, Jamnagar, Gujarat

Gujarat Ambuja Cements Ltd (3 x 30 MW)
Vadnagar, Distt. Junagarh, Gujarat

GSECL (374.57 MW)
Utran, Surat, Gujarat

Alok Industries Limited (7.5 MW)
Balitha, Vapi, Valsad, Gujarat

Essar Hazira Power SEZ (300 MW)
Hazira SEZ, Gujarat

Galiant Power (12 MW)
Samakhiyali, Kutch District, Gujarat

Essar Power Gujarat Limited(1200 MW)
Nana Mandha, District Jamnagar, Gujarat

GSPC Pipavav Power (1050 MW)
Kovayya, Amreli District, Gujarat

Neyveli Lignite Corp (4 x 250 MW)
Bhaga, Surat District, Gujarat

IFFCO (1050 MW)
Kalol Gujarat

Reliance Industries (32 MW)
Kharapada, Gujarat

Sanghi Industries (2 x 30 MW)
Akhari, Kutch, Gujarat

Rainbow Papers (10 MW)
Rajpur, Kalol , Gujarat

Sanghi Industries (2 x 600 MW)
Sanghipuram, Kutch, Gujarat

Torrent Power (1147 MW)
Akhakhol, Surat District, Gujarat

Saurashtra Cements (40 MW)
Ranava, Porbander District, Gujarat

Varsana Power (32 MW)
Varsana, Kutch District

Last Updated on : 22 September 2010


Gujarat Thermal Power Plants


  India Energy Maps  



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations