Orissa Thermal Power Plants Map

Power generation in Orissa

Power generation is one of important sectors in Odisa (Orissa). The state is rich in coal. It contains one fifth of the coal reserves in the country. The power generation has received a huge boost after some government measures adopted in 1994.

Thermal Power Plants in Orissa

Early on, Odisa/Orissa handed over its electricity transmission and distribution to private players. Over time, this has yielded very good results. Orissa now boasts of a number of thermal power plants. This has ensured good electricity for the state.

Orissa Thermal Power Plants Map

Orissa Thermal Power Plants Map
Email   Buy Now
*Detailed map of Orissa or Odisa the location of thermal power plants like Jarsuguda, kaniha, Talcher is provided here.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

Some of the Orissa Thermal Power Plants are

The Talcher Super Thermal Power Plant (TSTPS) is located at Kanha in Orissa. It generates 3,000 MW of electricity. It is the second largest power plant in India. It is one of the major Orissa thermal plants.

The National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) has a power unit at Angul in Orissa. It has an approved capacity of 3,000 MW. Its source of coal is the Talcher Coal Field. It gets its water from the nearby Samal Barrage Reservoir.

The states it benefits are

  • Orissa
  • Bihar
  • Sikkim
  • Damodar
  • Valley Corporation
  • West Bengal
  • Jharkhand
  • South Indian States
Its registered address at Orissa is

N T P C Ltd.
Thermal Power Station,
P.O. Talcher Thermal,
District Dhenkanal,
Phone number: 06760-49254/49066/247321

Talcher Thermal Power Station (TTPS)

The power plant is located at Angul in Orissa. It has an approved power capacity of 460 MW. Its water source is Brahmini River.

Its registered address at Orissa is

Talcher Thermal Power Station
P.O. Talcher Thermal
Distt. Angul,
Orissa - 759101,
Phone number: 06760- 249101.

IB Thermal Power Station

This power station is situated at Bhubaneswar in Orissa. Its exact address is

OPGC Sahit Nagar,
Orissa - 751016,
Phone number: 0091 6742507528.

Future Thermal Power Plants of Orissa

Many other power companies are also having talks with the Orissa government. They want to set up power plants in the state. Many of them have also obtained clearances to set up plants in the state.

Some of the forthcoming Thermal power plants of Orissa include
  • Powergen
  • Adhunik Power and Natural Resources Ltd
  • Maa Durga Thermal Power Company Ltd
  • Vijaya Ferro and Power Private Ltd
These Orissa thermal power plants are supposed to further contribute to the power sector in the state. Millions of rupees are being invested to establish these units in Orissa.

Last Updated on : 22 September 2010


Orissa Thermal Power Plants


  India Energy Maps