Bihar Thermal Power Plants

Several thermal plants abound the state of Bihar. Among the leading thermal power plants in Bihar, some are Barauni Thermal Power Station, Patratu Thermal Power Station and Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Project.

Barauni Thermal Power Station

Barauni Thermal Power Station is among the biggest thermal plants in Bihar. This Bihar thermal power plant is a coal-based plant located at Barauni. About 320 MW of power is generated by the plant annually. Barauni Railway station and the Patna Airport are the closest access points.

Barauni Thermal Power Station
BSEB Barauni
Distt. Begusarai

Bihar Thermal Power Plants Map

Bihar Thermal Power Plants Map
Email   Buy Now
*Map of Bihar locating all the major thermal power plants in the State.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

Patratu Thermal Power Station

This thermal power station in Bihar came into existence in association with the Russian collaboration in the year 1962. The Bihar thermal plant has a power generating capacity of 640MW.

Patratu Thermal Power Station
P.O. Patratu TPS
Distt. Hazaribagh Bihar

Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Project

On 20 March 2010

National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) in March 2010 announced the commencement of Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Project, unit-3, stage II (3X500 MW) 500 MW. Thus the capacity of Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Project stands at 2340 MW.

Some of the other Bihar thermal power stations are:

Khalgaon Super Thermal Power Project
P.O. Kahalgaon
Distt. Bhagalpur,

Muzaffarpur Thermal
Power Station
Distt. Muzaffarpur Bihar

Upcoming Bihar Thermal Power Plants

  • JAS Infrastructure Capital Pvt. Ltd (2 x 640 MW )
    Siriya, Distt. Banka, Bihar

  • Nalanda Power (2000 MW )
    Pipranait South, Bhagalpur District

  • Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam (2 x 250 MW)
    Stage II - Kainti,
    Muzafarpur District

  • Bihar State Electricity Board (2 x 250 MW)
    Barauni, District Begusarai, Bihar

  • Piranpaiti Bijilee (2 x 660 MW)
    Piranpaiti, Bhagalpur District

  • Lakhisarai Bijilee (2 x 660 MW)
    Kajra, Lakhisarai District, Bihar

  • Buxar Bijilee (1320 MW)
    Chausa, Buxar District, Bihar

  • NTPC (2 x 660 MW)
    Barh STPS, Patna District

Last Updated on : 22 September 2010


Bihar Thermal Power Plants


  India Energy Maps