Punjab Thermal Power Plants Map

Punjab houses several thermal plants. The Punjab thermal power plants help in making available to the people, the energy power available in the state.

The Guru Nanak Dev Thermal Plant

The Guru Nanak Dev Thermal Plant located at Bathinda is among the 3 Punjab thermal power plants. This power station is replete with 4 units, the construction of which started in 1970s and was completed in the year 1982. The plant has a power generation capacity of 440 Mw which meets the irrigational requirements of Lower Punjab. The plant belongs to Punjab Government Power Corporation.

Guru Nanak Dev Thermal Power Station
Punjab State Electricity

Punjab Thermal Power Plants Map

Punjab Thermal Power Plants Map
Email   Buy Now
*Thermal power plants located in Punjab namey at Bathinda and Roopnagar is provided here.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

Guru Hargobind Thermal Plant

Owned by the Punjab Government Power Corporation, Guru Hargobind Thermal Plant is the smallest of all the thermal power stations in Punjab. It is situated on the State Highway Number 12 running from Bathinda to Barnala. The plant has two units with a total capacity of 420 MW.
Guru Hargobind Thermal Power Station
Punjab State Electricity
Lehra Mohabbat
Distt: Bhatinda

Guru Gobing Singh Super Thermal Power Plant

Guru Gobing Singh Super Thermal Power Plant is situated at Ghanauli which is near Ropar in Punjab. This coal based thermal plant of the PSPCL has a power generating capacity of 1260 MW. In September 1984, the 1st unit of the plant was commissioned while the n2d unit commenced functioning in March 1985. In the later stages, 4 units more, were added to this Punjab thermal power plant.

Unit Number Stage Commencement Date Installed Capacity (MW) Status
1 1st 210 September,1984 Running
2 1st 210 March, 1985 Running
3 1st 210 March, 1988 Running
4 1st 210 January, 1989 Running
5 1st 210 March, 1992 Running
6 1st 210 March, 1993 Running

Guru Gobind Singh Super
Thermal Plant
P.O. Ghanauli
Distt. Ropar
Punjab- 140113

Upcoming Punjab Thermal Power Plants

  • Punjab State Electricity Board (2 x 250 MW)
    Village Lehra Mohabat, Bathinda District,

  • Nabha Power Ltd (1320 MW)
    Rajpura, Nalash Village,Patiala District

  • Gidderbaha Power Ltd (2640 MW)
    Villages Theri, Ghagga, Muktsar District

  • Talwandi Sabo Power Ltd (2000 MW)
    Banawala Village, Manasa district

  • Dee Development Engineers (8 MW)
    Gadha Dhob, Ferozpur district

  • GVK Govindawal (2x300 MW)
    Goindwal Sahib Village, Tarantaran

Last Updated on : 22 September 2010


Punjab Thermal Power Plants


  India Energy Maps  



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations