Jammu and Kashmir District Map

Jammu and Kashmir District Map

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Jammu and Kashmir District Map Jammu Srinagar City Udhampur City Jammu City Samba Kathua Udhampur Doda Ramban Reasi Rajouri Kulgam Pulwama Shupiyan Anantnag Badgam Srinagar Punch Baramula Kupwara Bandipore Ganderbal Kishtwar Kargil Leh PUNJAB HIMACHAL PRADESH PAKISTAN CHINA AFGHNISTAN
Print Email Save
*The Map showing all Districts and Major Roads, etc in the State of jammu and Kashmir. Disclaimer

Jammu and Kashmir is the Northern most and one of the most beautiful Indian states. It is believed that when Mughal Emperor Jahangir saw the Kashmir valley he exclaimed "If there ever is a heaven on earth, it's here, it's here, it's here". Jammu and Kashmir comprises of three regions; Jammu, the Kashmir valley and Ladakh and has two capital cities, Jammu, the winter capital and Srinagar, the summer capital.

Jammu and Kashmir covers a total area of 2,22,236 km square and has a population of 12, 548,926 (2011 census). The districts are divided under three divisions; Jammu Division, Kashmir Valler Division and Ladakh Division.

Parts of Jammu and Kashmir have been claimed by India's neighbouring countries of Pakistan and China. Areas of Jammu and Kashmir under Pakistani administration are Azad Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan and areas under China are Aksai Chin and Trans-Karakoram Tract.

Jammu, the winter capital is famous for its Hindu temples and witnesses many pilgrims year after year. The Kashmir Valley, also known as Heaven on Earth, is famous for its beautiful gardens and lakes and its picturesque natural beauty. Other famous places in Jammu and Kashmir include Leh and Ladakh, known for their dizzying heights and rugged landscape. Apart from that Srinagar, Gulmarg, Katra, Pahalgam and Patnitop are other popular destinations in Jammu and Kashmir.

List of Districts in Jammu and Kashmir

S No.DistrictHeadquartersPopulation (Census 2011)Sex Ratio (per 1000)Average Literacy

Governance of the Districts of Jammu and Kashmir

The districts of Jammu and Kashmir are the administrative units of the state and have been further subdivided into blocks and tehsils that facilitate the government and administration of the districts.

The Siachen Glacier, though under the control of the Indian military does not come under the administration of the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Jammu and Kashmir is the only state in India which has its own flag and constitution and Indians living in other parts of the country cannot buy land or property in the state.


Last Updated on : November 29, 2014



How Many States Have Two-tier Legislature? There are seven states in India having bicameral (two-tier) legislation. Bicameral legislature is a legislative system having two-tier… Read More...
Which State has the Highest Sex Ratio? Kerala has the highest sex ratio. Sex ratio is a valuable source for finding the ratio… Read More...
Which State has the maximum number of Operational SEZs? Tamil Nadu has the maximum numbers of operational SEZs. SEZ – Special Economic Zone –… Read More...

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share