National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH)

The National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH) at Dehradun is an apex body in the field of Education and Rehabilitation of the Visually Handicapped in India under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.The institute occupies 43 acres on the Mussoorie-Dehradun Highway. Autonomous in nature, it is considered to be the largest of its kind in Asia.

The National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH) in Dehradun originated as St. Dunstan's hostel for the war-blinded in 1943. The Government of India took over the building on January 1, 1950 and renamed it as the 'Training Center for the Adult Blind' (Men). Later, the activities of the center in the field of Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind became extensive and these were united under the umbrella of the National Center for the Blind in 1967.

1979 was an important year in the growth and development of beneficial services for the blind since the National Center for the Blind was elevated to the status of 'National Institute for the Visually Handicapped'.In 1982 the institute was granted autonomy by the Ministry of Welfare.

Some of the significant activities of the National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH) are:
  • Human Resource Development
  • Research and Development
  • Designing and Delivery of Model Services
  • Designing and Production of supportive devices
  • Production and circulation of books in Braille and audio forms
  • Education, Vocational Training and Rehabilitation services
  • Production of Educational, Computational, Mobility and recreational aids and appliances
  • Provision of consultancy services
The National Institute for the Visually Handicapped (NIVH) of Dehradun is the most important center in the country for the education and training of the visually handicapped.

Last Updated on 14 March 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations