Geography of Dehradun

The geography of Dehradun shows it as being located at the center of the Doon Valley in the state of Uttaranchal, forming part of the Garhwal Himalayas. The Himalayas lie to its north, the Shivalik range to its south, the Ganges to its east and the Yamuna to its west. It is about 235 kilometers from Delhi. Once under British rule, Dehradun has preserved its colonial tinge despite considerable modernization. The magnificent landscapes and excellent infrastructure attract numerous visitors to Dehradun.

Dehradun enjoys a pleasant climate. During the summer months, temperatures range between 36°C and 16.7°C. Winter temperatures vary between 23.4°C and 5.2° C respectively. Dehradun is today a major academic and research center and a popular summer retreat. Although the weather is pleasant throughout the year, the geography of Dehradun reveals April to July to be the ideal time for traveling to Dehradun.

Dehradun lies on the route to tourist destinations like Haridwar, Rishikesh, Gangotri and Badrinath. Tourist attractions in Dehradun include the Tapkeshwar Mahadev Temple, the Tapovan, Robbers' Cave, the Shakya Center. Dehradun also offers opportunities for adventure sports like skiing and trekking. Several academic institutions and research centers are located here, a notable one being the Forest Research Institute.

According to the geography of Dehradun, it is easily accessible by road for regular bus services connect it to all important cities of North India. The Jolly Grant Airport is about 25 kilometers away from Dehradun and the city is connected by rail to all major cities of India. Dehradun offers plenty of choices in terms of quality accommodation ranging from luxury hotels to budget hotels, known for their friendly services and modern amenities

The geography of Dehradun is of great interest, from the viewpoint of both tourism and academics.

Last Updated on 14 March 2013



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations