Languages in Karnataka

The official language of the state of Karnataka is Kannada. However the local indigenous population of the state also speak other languages. The state of Karnataka has a strong cultural and historical background which is manifested in the rich development of language and literature of the region.

The Kannada language belongs to the Dravidian group of languages. A significant attribute of the Kannada language is that unlike the other north Indian languages, the Kannada language has no influence of Urdu.

Some of the people of the state of Karnataka also speak the other important languages of the Dravidian family like Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam. Almost all the citizens of Karnataka are proficient in English language.

One of the oldest languages of the Dravidian family, the Kannada language has many rich literary creations that reflect the culture and tradition of the people of the state. During the ancient times, the Kannada literary personalities like Srivijaya and Guna Varman wrote profusely on Jainism. The three gems Pampa, Ponna and Ranna also made immense contribution to the development of Kannada literature. Harihara, Raghavanka and Kereya Padmarasa were devotees of Lord Shiva who composed many literary marvels in praise of the Supreme Being. The modern era saw the rise of many eminent literary personalities like Bhattakalanka Deva, Nijaguna Yogi and many others who wrote extensively to enrich the language.

The Kannada language is a well developed language with a rich literary base. One of the prominent languages of India, the Kannada language is taught in many famous universities of India.

Last Updated on 27 June 2013



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations