Panaji City Map

City Map of Panaji

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
City Map of Panaji
Print Email Save
* Disclaimer

  Major Cities of Goa  
Vasco da Gama City Map Panaji City Map Margao City Map Mapusa City Map
Vasco da Gama City MapPanaji City MapMargao City MapMapusa City Map
Calangute City Map
Calangute City Map

The official name for the capital of Goa is Panaji, though in Konkani it is often pronounced as 'Ponnji'. The Portuguese name for it was 'Pongim', from which originated the other name by which it is known - Panjim. The name Panjim is used mostly by English speaking people.

The capital of Goa lies on the banks of the Mandovi estuary, in the district of North Goa. Panaji means 'the land that does not flood'.

Panaji, the capital of Goa, is built around a church facing a prominent square.

Panaji has some beautiful Portuguese Baroque style buildings. The riverside too offers a fine view.

Panaji has a population of around 65,000. Panaji is Goa's third largest city after Vasco and Madgaon.

The capital of Goa, Panaji, was earlier a small village on the riverfront. In 1843 the city was renamed Nova Goa (Portuguese for 'New Goa') when it officially replaced the city of Goa - which is now Old Goa - as the administrative seat of Portuguese India. The viceroy, though, had already moved to Panaji in 1759.

Panaji became a state capital on Goa's elevation to statehood in May 1987.

The capital of Goa was once little more than a minor landing stage and customs house - protected by a hilltop fort, and surrounded by stagnant swampland.

In 1843 it became the capital after the port at Old Goa had silted up, and its rulers and impoverished inhabitants had fled the plague.

Last Updated on: 24/09/2013

  Find Distance from Panajicity to other Indian Cities 



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations