Track Your Constituency

Goa General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Goa General Election Results

Map of Goa Parliamentary Constituencies

separator Click Here Customized Maps arrow custom map
Goa Parliamentary Constituencies North-goa South-goa
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Goa State. Disclaimer

Goa Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Goa is the smallest state of India and was under the Portuguese rule for four and half centuries. It finally won independence in 1961 and became a part of the Union territory of Goa, Daman & Diu. Later in 1987, Goa separated and became the 25th state of India. Goa is divided into two districts, North Goa and South Goa. From a development perspective, the state is divided into 12 community development blocks. The state is surrounded by Karnataka in the East and the South, Maharashtra in the North, and the Arabian sea in the West.

Member Representation at the Centre and State

Goa sends two members to the Lok Sabha and one to Rajya Sabha. The State Legislative Assembly is unicameral in nature and comprises 40 members.

Major Political Parties in Goa

The main political parties in Goa are:
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Other active political parties in the state are :
  • Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) : It was the first party to rule Goa after its liberation from the Portuguese rule in 1961.
  • United Goans Democratic Party (UGDP) : It is also one of the oldest parties in Goa and has its base among the Goan Christians.
  • Goa Vikas Party : Goa Vikas Party is a regional political party in Goa and holds two seats in the current government.
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Goa Election History

The first Goa Assembly Elections took place in 1964 and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party emerged as the winning party. Dayanand Bandodkar was nominated as the Chief Minister. The party ruled till 1979. In 1980, the INC came to power with Pratapsingh Rane as the Chief Minister. He held this position till 1990. Goa had a stable governance till 1990, but since then till 2005, Goa has seen about 14 governments. In 2007, the INC-led coalition won the elections and ruled till 2012. In 2012 assembly polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party won and Manohar Parrikar was chosen to be the Chief Minister.

If we look at the Lok Sabha elections, in the fourth Lok Sabha elections, an Independent candidate emerged as the winner. In the fifth Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress was the winning party. Then in the subsequent elections held in 1997 and 1980, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) was the winning party. The INC and MGP won the elections every alternate term after that; INC won the elections in 1984, and in 1989 it was MGP. In 1991, it was again INC and in 1996 it was MGP. In 1998, INC once again was the winning party. In 1999, the BJP emerged as the winning party. In the elections that followed in 2004, again BJP was the winning party. In the 2014 polls, BJP's Shripad Yesso Naik won the North Goa seat, while INC's Francisco Sardinha emerged winner in South Goa constituency.

Current Constitution of the State Government

After the assembly elections in Goa in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party along with the Goa Forward Party came together to form the government. BJP leader Manohar Parrikar was nominated as the Chief Minister, and he continued in office till his death on March 17, 2019 due to cancer. Since then, Pramod Sawant has assumed office as the Chief Minister of Goa.

The party position is as follows:

Name of the PartyNumber of Seats
Bharatiya Janata Party14
Indian National Congress14
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party1
Goa Forward Party3
Nationalist Congress Party1

Top Political Leaders in Goa
  Election Highlights  
Quick Facts No. of PCs : 2
No. of Polling Days : 1
Polling Dates : 23 April (Phase 3)
Poll Expenditure Limit per Candidate : Rs.54 lakhs

Goa Parliamentary Constituency Winners 2009

PC No.PC NameCategoryWinning CandidateGenderPartyTotal Votes
1North GoaGENShripad Yesso NaikMBJP137716
2South GoaGENCosme Francisco Caitano SardinhaMINC127494

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Goa  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1North Goa2South Goa

Last Updated on :

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.