Auckland House School, Shimla

One of the oldest convent schools of Shimla, Auckland House School was named after its owner and a former Governor General of India, Lord Auckland.

The school was founded in the year 1866 at Holly Lodge on Jakhu on the opinion of Bishop Cotton's wife. On 6th November 1869 the school was shifted to the Auckland House.

As per the principal of Auckland House School, "this school is a home away from home" where the girls are nurtured with confidence and their overall personality is developed so that they can take up any challenge in life.

The education of this school is established on the teachings and life of Jesus Christ. The slogan of the school is "Altiora Peto" meaning "I seek the higher things".

General Information about Auckland House School, Shimla :
  • The school is located on the Elysium Hill which is cited as one of the beautiful and healthy place as its neither sunbaked in summer nor frozen in winter.

  • This school is a Minority institution whose working is supervised by the Diocese of Amritsar, Church of North India and its own governing body whose chair man is the Bishop of Amritsar.

  • This school is accredited by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi and the Department of Education of Himachal Pradesh.

  • The whole academic year is divided into three terms starting from March and ending in early December.

  • The extra curricular activities include Dramas, Elocutions and Debates in Hindi, English and Punjabi, First Aid and Home Nursing.

  • The School has a own Girls Guide company. The school also organizes regular excursions, picnics, camps and some adventurous expeditions.

Last Updated on : 29/05/2013

  Shimla Education  

  Related Links  


Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations