Ministries & Departments of Tamil Nadu

The Tamil Nadu Government is efficiently run by the Chief Minister, Governor and the different ministers of the state. The capital of the state is Chennai. It is one of the southern most states of India. The total area of Tamil Nadu is 1,30,100 square kilometers and it has a population of 67.86 million.

Ottakara Panneerselvam was the interim Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu who assumed office on 6 December 2016 after the demise of Jayalalithaa. He is a member of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and served the office twice before as well, from 2001-02 and 2014-15.

On 16 February 2017, Edappadi K Palaniswami was appointed as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu. Palaniswami is a also a member of the Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) political party and his seat on all occasions has been Edapadi constituency.

At present, the governor of Tamil Nadu is C. Vidyasagar Rao (additional charge). He was the Union Minister of State for Home Affairs in Atal Behari Vajpayee's cabinet in 1999. Later, he was given a different portfolio of the Union Minister of Commerce and Industry. On 30 August 2014, he was appointed governor of Maharashtra. President of India Pranab Mukherjee, issued his appointment as a governor.

Some of ministries and their departments are mentioned here:

Ministries and Departments

The Tamil Nadu ministries are allotted under the supervision of the council of ministers. There are different ministries under which lie the different departments. The Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Edappadi K Palaniswami is himself responsible for the development of the Public Ministry, General Administration, Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, Other All India Services, Prevention of Corruption, District Revenue Officers, Home, Police, Industries, Information Technology, Prohibition and Excise, Molasses, Minorities Welfare, Tamil Official Language & Tamil Culture, the Passports and Special Initiatives departments and departments of Finance, Planning, Legislative Assembly and Elections, departments of Finance, Planning, Legislative Assembly and Elections.

The Ministry of Electricity is responsible for Electricity, Non-Conventional Energy Development and Personnel and Administrative Reforms departments allotted under it.

The Tamil Nadu Government has the Ministry for Rural Development and Local Administration under which lie the various departments of Municipal Administration, Rural Development, Panchayats and Panchayat Unions, Poverty Alleviation Programs, Rural Indebtedness and Urban and Rural Water Supply.

Another department of the state is the Ministry of Agriculture. Under this ministry lie the various departments of Agricultural Engineering, Agro Service Cooperatives, Horticulture, Sugarcane Cess, Sugarcane Development and Waste Land Development.

The Minister for Law, Courts and Prisons is C.Ve.Shanmugam.

The Ministry of Rural Industries include the small and cottage industries departments as well.


Last Updated on February 21, 2017