Tamil Nadu Local Government

Lying on the southernmost tip of the Peninsular India, Tamil Nadu, one of the 29 states in India, had a bicameral legislature till the year 1986, after which it was replaced by a unicameral legislature, like the other Indian states.

The Tamil Nadu local government comprises of the Governor, Konijeti Rosaiah who happens to be the Constitutional head of Tamil Nadu and the Chief Minister O Panneerselvam who heads the Council of Ministers and the government. The head of the judiciary is the Chief-Justice of the state's high-court.

The administrative units of Tamil Nadu comprises of:
  • Districts: 32
  • Revenue Divisions: 76
  • Firkas: 1,127
  • Taluks: 226
  • Revenue Villages: 16,564
  • Municipalities: 125
  • Municipal Corporations: 10
  • Panchayat Unions (Blocks): 385
  • Village Panchayats: 12,618
  • Town Panchayats: 561
  • Lok Sabha Constituencies: 39
  • Assembly Constituencies: 234

Tamil Nadu local government has pioneered the initiatives of the E-Governance in India. A major portion of the local government of Tamil Nadu records information such as land ownership etc has been digitalized and the important offices of the state government such as the urban local bodies, municipal office activities, revenue collection, the corporations etc, transport offices, land registration offices and several others have been computerized. This has led to quality services coupled with transparent operations.

The state of Tamil Nadu consists of 10 city corporations namely, Coimbatore, Chennai, Madurai, Salem, Tirunelveli, Tiruchirapalli, Tirupur, Vellore, Erode and Thoothukudi. The Corporation of Chennai (capital and the largest city of Tamil Nadu) that came into existence in the year 1688 is the oldest Municipal Corporation of India.

Election constituencies

Tamil Nadu Election Constituencies are created to make the procedure of conducting election easier. The Election Commission of India is responsible for conducting elections in all the parts of the country. Since India is a vast country with many states so to reduce the chance of mistakes they have divided the election areas of India into different constituencies. Tamil Nadu Election Constituencies are also a result of this effort.


The local government and the municipalities of the region were famous during the Chola regime as the Kudavolai. The existing municipal structure has incorporated several changes and works for the facility of the town people. The municipality engages in the urban and town planning programs. The land within the area is regulated for constructions by the municipalities. The municipalities are responsible for the construction of roads and bridges in the area. Public health and sanitation fall under the supervision of the municipalities. They are also responsible for the management of solid wastes in the urban and town areas. Some of the other areas that fall under the administration of the municipalities are mentioned below:
  • Providing water supply for all the sectors.
  • Improvement and upgradation of the slum areas and alleviation of poverty in the urban regions.
  • Registration of births and deaths in the region.
  • Providing street lights and public conveniences in the urban regions
  • Promoting the educational and cultural aspects of the region.


Tamil Nadu has a distinguished panchayats system of administration. It is the Local Self Government in the rural areas. This empowers the government with administrative powers in the grass root level. Tamil Nadu has a well developed panchayat system and is also the first in promoting town panchayats in the country.

Council of Ministers in Tamil Nadu

There are several departments handled by the Council of Ministers in the state. Some of such departments are:
  • Public Works Department
  • Tamil Official Language & Tamil Culture Department
  • Irrigation including Minor Irrigation Department
  • Welfare of the Differently abled Department
  • Programme Works Department
  • Legislative Assembly and Elections Department
  • Finance Department
  • Planning Department
  • Electricity Department
  • Non-Conventional Energy Development Department
  • General Administration Department
  • Industries Department
  • District Revenue Officers Department
  • Minorities Welfare Department
  • Social Reforms Department
  • Rural Development Department
  • Panchayats and Panchayat Unions Department
  • Municipal Administration Department
  • Poverty Alleviation Programmes Department
  • Urban and Rural Water Supply Department
  • Rural Indebtedness Department
  • Agriculture Department
  • Agro Service Cooperatives Department
  • Horticulture Department
  • Agricultural Engineering Department
  • Sugarcane Cess, Sugarcane Development Department
  • Waste Land Development Department
  • Cooperation Department
  • Statistics Department
  • Ex-Servicemen Welfare Department
  • Electronics Department
  • Science and Technology Department
  • Higher Education including Technical Education Department
  • Mines and Minerals Department
  • Personnel and Administrative Reforms Department
  • Law, Courts and Prisons Department
  • Family Welfare Department
  • Health Department
  • Medical Education Department
  • Nationalized Transport Department
  • Transport Department
  • Motor Vehicles Act Department
  • District Revenue Establishment Department
  • Revenue Department
  • Rural Housing and Housing Development Department
  • Small Industries Department
  • Animal Husbandry Department
  • Rural Industries including Cottage Industries Department
  • Film Technology and Cinematograph Act Department
  • Information and Publicity Department
  • Stationery and Printing Department
  • Urban Development Department
  • Town Planning and Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority Department
  • Tourism Department
  • Civil Supplies, Food, Consumer Protection and Price Control Department
  • Labour Department
  • Employment and Training Department
  • Environment and Pollution Control Department
  • Sports and Youth Welfare Department
  • Information Technology Department
  • Highways and Minor Port Department
  • Fisheries and Fisheries Development Corporation Department
  • Social Welfare Department including Women's and Children's Welfare, Integrated Child Development and Beggar Homes
  • Khadi and Village Industries Board Department


Last Updated on : October 15, 2014



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations