Anandabazar Patrika

Among the Bengali newspapers of India, Anandabazar Patrika is the most popular. It is published in Bengali language by the publishing house of Anandabazar Patrika Limited (ABP) from Kolkata and Siliguri in West Bengal. The first edition of Anandabazar Patrika was published on March 13, 1922. The first edition was in the form of an evening daily and it was printed with red ink. Thousand copies of the first edition were sold at two paisas each, consisting of four pages.

Prafulla Chandra Sarkar was founder of the newspaper, who served as the editor also. It became very popular instantly for its deep patriotic fervor. As per a survey conducted by National Readership Survey in the year 2006 the total readership of the newspaper is 72,95,000, while in Kolkata it is 30,61,000. According to the survey of Audit Bureau of Circulations the total circulation of the newspaper is 12,67,172.

Three editions of Anandabazar Patrika are published from the three Indian metropolitan cities of Calcutta, Delhi and Mumbai. During the six days of the week, it has divided the state into six parts district- North Bengal (Malda, Jalpaiguri, South and North Dinajpur, Cooch Behar, Darjeeling), South Bengal (, Howrah, North and South 24 Parganas and Hoogly, Bankura-Birbhum-Purulia, Nadia-Murshidabad), Burdwan, Midnapore. Four days a week tabloids are published for Kolkata and its adjoining areas namely South Calcutta, Howrah, North Calcutta, and East Calcutta. The newspaper edition is also available on the Internet. A city supplement on the capital city of Kolkata is also provided and a Patrika on Saturdays. On Sundays you get the Rabibashoriyo, Prastuti is published on alternate Mondays.

Last Updated on 21 March 2013