Nadia District Map

District Map of Nadia

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Nadia Murshidabad Braddhaman Hugli North 24 Parganas BANGLADESH
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Nadia District Map highlights the National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of West Bengal  
Darjiling District Map Bankura District Map Haora District Map Birbhum District Map
Darjiling District MapBankura District MapHaora District MapBirbhum District Map
Nadia District Map Murshidabad District Map Medinipur District Map Jalpaiguri District Map
Nadia District MapMurshidabad District MapMedinipur District MapJalpaiguri District Map
  other districts of West Bengal  >>

Nadia - West Bengal

Nadia is a prominent district in West Bengal. It covers an area of 3,927 sq km. The district comes with a lot of historical significance and is a great place for tourists. The traditional city known as Krishnagar is the headquarters of the district.
Agriculture is the main occupation along with tourism. The district is famous for its diverse heritage from the past history and its rich culture.

Location of Nadia

The district is surrounded by Bangladesh to the East, North 24 paraganas and Hooghly to the south, Bardhaman district to the west and to the north is Murshidabad district. The district is situated to the east of West Bengal. Nadia is located between 22 degree 53" and 24 degree 11" north latitude and 88 degree 09" and 88 degree 48" east longitude. The district is in the shape of linear and is 46 feet above sea level.

Important places

There are various places of importance like the Navadwip, Shantipur, and Kalyani, which have a significant role in the tourism of the district. Some important villages are the Andharkotha, Bagdanga, Patharghata, Metiari and many more. The important major towns are the Nakasipara, Chapra, Tehata, Hanskhali, Chakdaha, Haringhata and Karimpur.


Nadia boosts of a good network of road and railway. National Highway No. 34 passes through the district and is joined to other parts of the country. A railway junction is also built at Krishnagar city junction where many trains arrive that connects to other districts. Some important trains stop at this junction. Nadia is well connected to the rest of the country with its large network of road ways and railways.

Nadia profile

According to 2011 census, Nadia had a population of 5,168,488. The male population was 2,655,056 and female population was 2,513,432. The population density of the district was 1,316 people per square kilometers in 2011. The literacy rate in 2011 was 75.58% out of which 1,906966 literates were male1, 617,107 literates were female. The sex ratio stood at 940 girls per 1000 boys in 2011.

Interesting places to visit

The map shows many interesting places and the names of the towns and villages that you can visit in Nadia. Nadia is an important tourist center that comprises of many distinct places of interest like the Nabadwip, which is a famous pilgrimage place and a birth place of Shree Chaitanya. Lord Krishna temple and the Dwadas Shib Manir are also famous. One can also visit Mayapur, Shantipur, Fulia and Betuadahari which is a deer park on NH 34.

Facts of Nadia District
StateWest Bengal
District HQKrishnanagar
Population (2011)5167600
Sex Ratio947
Area (km2)3927
Density (/km2) 1316
Tehsils Chakdah, Chapra, Hanskhali, Haringhata, Kaliganj, Karimpur I, Karimpur II, Krishnaganj, Krishnagar I, Krishnagar II, Nabadwip, Nakashipara, Ranaghat I, Ranaghat II, Santipur, Tehatta I, Tehatta II
Lok Sabha Constituencies Murshidabad, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat (Sc), Bangaon (Sc)
Assembly Constituencies Karimpur, Tehatta, Palashipara, Kaliganj, Kaliganj, Chapra, Krishnanagar Uttar, Nabadwip, Krishnanagar Dakshin, Santipur, Ranaghat Uttar Paschim, Krishnaganj, Ranaghat Uttar Purba, Ranaghat Dakshin, Chakdaha, Kalyani, Haringhata
Languages Bengali, Hindi
Rivers Bhagirathi, Jalangi, Bhairav, Churni, Mathabhanga, Ichamati
Lat-Long 23.483401,88.549004
Travel Destinations Bethuadahari Forest, ISKCON Camp, Shayam Chand Temple, Raj Rajeswar Temple, Palashi etc.
Government Colleges/Universities Asannagar Madan Mohan Tarkalankar College, Bethuadahari College, Chakdaha College, Chapra Bangaljhi Mahavidyalaya, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar College, Dwijendralal College, Haringhata Mahavidyalaya, Indian Institute of Information Technology, University of Kalyani, Kalyani Mahavidyalaya, Karimpur Pannadevi College, Krishnagar Government College, Krishnagar Women's College, Nabadwip Vidyasagar College, Pritilata Waddedar Mahavidyalaya, Ranaghat College, Santipur B.Ed College, Santipur College, Srikrishna College, Sudhiranjan Lahiri Mahavidyalaya etc.

Last Updated on : 24 March 2020