Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2013

Chhattisgarh General Election Result

Map of Chhattisgarh Assembly Constituencies
Chhattisgarh Assembly Constituencies Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Map of Chhattisgarh Assembly Constituencies. Disclaimer

Phase Wise Chhattisgarh Assembly Map
Phase Wise Chhattisgarh Assembly Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Phase Wise Chhattisgarh Assembly Map. Disclaimer

Chhattisgarh Election Updates

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections (II Phase)

The second phase of the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh that includes 72 constituencies began on 19 November, 2013 at 8 in the morning.

In order to assure a fair conduct of election process 3,000 surveillance cameras have been installed at the polling booths. 80,000 Election Commission officials and 100,000 security forces have been positioned especially in the zones under the risk of Naxal attack.

In the first phase of assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, 75.53% of voters had turned up to vote but in the second phase only 30 % have been registered till 12 p.m. on Tuesday.

Chhattisgarh Elections: Poor turnout in first phase

As the first phase of assembly elections in the state of Chhattisgarh drew to a close, there was very little for the Election Commission to cheer about. The terror maintained by the Maoists resulted in poor voter turnout (30-35%), while a CRPF jawan lost his life during cross-firing in the sensitive Dantewada district. The police did manage to foil an attempt to disrupt the democratic machinery, as they recovered 20 improvised explosive devices (IEDs) from the districts of Sukma, Kanker, Dantewada, and Narayanpur.

Voting begins in Chhattisgarh

The first phase of Chhattisgarh elections is underway as several of the constituencies get to choose the "None of the Above" option for the first time in India. As expected, there was minor disturbance caused by the Maoists, who injured one BSF personnel and looted the EVMs in Kanker. Political mudslinging is also on, as two Congress party workers reported that they were attacked by unidentified men, blaming the BJP for plotting the attack.

Chhattisgarh Election 2013

The Chhattisgarh Assembly elections are due in two phases. The first phase will be held on November 11 in 18 constituencies, while the second will see polling in the rest on November 19. In the first phase, Rajnandgaon seat along with 17 other constituencies in Bastar, Dantewada, Sukma, Bijapur, Kondagaon, Kanker, Narayanpur and Rajnandgaon districts will go to the polls. The Election Commission has termed these 18 constituencies as Maoist militancy-affected areas. In the second phase, voters in the remaining 72 constituencies in 16 districts will cast their votes.

It is a fight where the current chief minister, Raman Singh (from Rajnandgaon) could be pitted against Congress hopeful Ajit Jogi. Information is still awaited about whether Ajit Jogi will be fighting the state elections or Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha ones. A recent opinion poll has clearly indicated that it is the current chief minister, Raman Singh, who may help the Bharatiya Janata Party win for the 3rd time, on the basis of the work and progress that he has brought about in the Chhattisgarh State. Raman Singh, 61 years of age and an ayurvedic doctor turned politician, is from the BJP and has been in power since 2003. While Ajit Jogi was the first chief minister of the state when it was carved out of Madhya Pradesh.

Prominent leaders who have already filed their nominations include Premprakash Pandey of BJP and former speaker of the Chhattisgarh Assembly, BJP state spokesperson Srichand Sundarani (Raipur city north), Badruddin Kureshi (Congress), Amit and Renu Jogi (son and wife of Ajit Jogi), Amitesh Shukla (son of late Madhya Pradesh CM, S. C. Shukla) - all from Congress, etc. BJP is likely to win 61-71 seats as per the pre-poll survey conducted by CNN IBN, while Congress may win about 16-24 seats.

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Schedule 2013

 (Phase 1)(Phase 2)
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification18th October 201325th October 2013
Last Date for Nominations25th October 20131stNovember 2013
Scrutiny of Nominations to be closed on26th October 20132ndNovember 2013
Last Date for withdrawing the candidatures28th October 20134thNovember 2013
Date of Poll11thNovember 201319thNovember 2013
Date of counting the votes: Sunday, 8thDecember 2013

List of the Assembly Constituencies in Chhattisgarh
1 Bharatpur-Sonhat (ST)
2 Manendragarh
3 Baikunthpur
4 Premnagar
5 Bhatgaon
6 Pratappur (ST)
7 Ramanujganj (ST)
8 Samri (ST)
9 Lundra (ST)
10 Ambikapur
11 Sitapur (ST)
12 Jashpur (ST)
13 Kunkuri (ST)
14 Pathalgaon (ST)
15 Lailunga (ST)
16 Raigarh
17 Sarangarh (SC)
18 Kharsia
19 Dharamjaigarh (ST)
20 Rampur (ST)
21 Korba
22 Katghora
23 Pali-Tanakhar (ST)
24 Marwahi (ST)
25 Kota
26 Lormi
27 Mungeli (SC)
28 Takhatpur
29 Bilha
30 Bilaspur
31 Beltara
32 Masturi (SC)
33 Akaltara
34 Janjgir-Champa
35 Sakti
36 Chandrapur
37 Jaijaipur
38 Pamgarh (SC)
39 Saraipali (SC)
40 Basna
41 Khallari
42 Mahasamund
43 Bilaigarh (SC)
44 Kasdol
45 Baloda Bazar
46 Bhatapara
47 Dharsiwa
48 Raipur Rural
49 Raipur City West
50 Raipur City North
51 Raipur City South
52 Arang (SC)
53 Abhanpur
54 Rajim
55 Bindranawagarh (ST)
56 Sihawa (ST)
57 Kurud
58 Dhamtari
59 Sanjari Balod
60 Dondi Lohara (ST)
61 Gunderdehi
62 Patan
63 Durg-Rural
64 Durg City
65 Bhilai Nagar
66 Vaishali Nagar
67 Ahiwara (SC)
68 Saja
69 Bemetara
70 Nawagarh (SC)
71 Pandariya
72 Kawardha
73 Khairagarh
74 Dongargarh (SC)
75 Rajnandgaon
76 Dongargaon
77 Khujji
78 Mohla-Manpur (ST)
79 Antagarh (ST)
80 Bhanupratappur (ST)
81 Kanker (ST)
82 Keshkal (ST)
83 Kondagaon (ST)
84 Narayanpur (ST)
85 Bastar (ST)
86 Jagdalpur
87 Chitrakot (ST)
88 Dantewada (ST)
89 Bijapur (ST)
90 Konta (ST)

Last Updated on : 19/11/2013