Area of Chhattisgarh

The state of Chhattisgarh was formed by integrated 16 districts of Madhya Pradesh that held together by a strong linguistic barrier. The state came into being in the new millennium on 1st November 2000. The area of Chattisgarh is estimated to be 1,35,000 sq. km. Chhattisgarh stretches across the latitudinal expanse of 17°46' North to 24°05'North on one hand to the longitudinal meridian of 80°15' East to 84°20' East on the other.

Dense forests that cover 44% of the state's area mark the divergent topography of the state. Chattisgarh claims nearly 12% of India's total forest area that accounts for tremendous biodiversity as well as a rich collection of timber and variegated species of wildlife.

Popularly known as the "rice bowl" of India, Chhattisgarh is responsible for more than 70% of the country's production of rice. Apart from rice kodo-kutki, maize, pulses, millets, oilseeds and sunflower are also grown aplenty. A majority of Madhya Pradesh's crop production comes from Chhattisgarh itself. In fact, prior to Chhattisgarh's recognition as an autonomous state, nearly 5800 to 6000 acres fell under its agricultural area and that contributed to 23% of undivided Madhya Pradesh's cultivation area.

In the year 2004, Chhattisgarh reached a remarkable Gross State Domestic Product of over 12 billion US Dollars. The strategic location, abundant power supply and rich storehouse of minerals augment the state's industrial and economic potential. The industrial area is centered on the cities of Borai, Anjani, Sirgitti, Urla and Siltara in the districts of Bilaspur, Raigarh, Raipur and Durg/Rajnandgaon.

Some of the significant industries housed within the territorial area of Chhattisgarh include:
  • NTPC Korba (National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd)
  • S.E.C.L. (South Eastern Coalfields Limited)
  • Bhilai Steel Plant
  • S.E.C.Railway Zone
  • BALCO Aluminium Plant (Korba)

Last Updated on: 29th March 2013



Which state in India has its own constitution? Jammu and Kashmir is the only Indian state which has its own constitution. The constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, which was adopted on 17 November 1956 and came into effect on 26 January… Read More...
Which state in India is the largest producer of milk?India, which is well-known for its dairy products, is the largest producer of milk, second only to United States (in terms of cow milk). The country produces nearly 50 to 60 million tonnes of milk every year and currently contributes around 9.5 percent of the global… Read More...
Which Indian state has the maximum number of major ports? Nearly 7,500 km long Indian coastline makes the country one of the largest peninsulas in the world. There are nine coastal Indian states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu,… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations