Chhattisgarh Governor

The Chhattisgarh Governor is appointed by the President of India. He or she governs the state for a period of five years.

Governor of Chhattisgarh

Present Chhattisgarh Governor

Currently, the Governor of Chhattisgarh is Shri Shekhar Dutt. Before becoming the governor of the state, he served in the capacity of an IAS officer as Secretary in the Ministry of Defense of the Union Government.

Name of the spouse of Shekhar Dutt

The name of Shekhar Dutt's wife is Sushmita Dutt.

Educational Qualification of Shekhar Dutt

Shekhar Dutt is an alumnus of the University of South Wales, Swansea (UK) and he accomplished his bachelor's degree in physics and science. He did his masters degree in development policy and planning.

Civil services career of Shekhar Dutt

Dutt was an IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh cadre, 1969 batch. He started his career by taking up a job of a Short Service Commission officer in the Indian Army. In 1971, when war broke out between India and Pakistan, he was honored with Sena Medal for showing courage during the war.

While he was working for the Government of Madhya Pradesh, he occupied different important ranks and positions such as Principal Secretary, Departments of School Education, Sports & Youth Welfare and Principal Secretary in the Department of Tribal and Scheduled Caste Welfare. From 1985 to 1989, Mr. Dutt also served as Divisional Commissioner of Revenue Division, Raipur.

While working in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare of India, he was designated as Secretary of the Department of Ayurveda, Yoga, Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha & Homeopathy. He initiated assignments for searching new molecules from tree roots to be utilized for making pills and medicines.

Shekhar Dutt also worked as the Director General of the Sports Authority of India, and he made an important contribution in organizing the Afro-Asian Games in Hyderabad, which took place in November 2003. During this tenure, India achieved a record number of medals (69) in the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games.

Subsequently, Mr. Shekhar Dutt was appointed as the Joint Secretary in the Department of Defense Production. Afterwards, in 2005, he took over as the Defense Secretary of the country. Dutt demitted office from the post of the Defense Secretary in July 2007 and was subsequently assigned the post of Deputy National Security Advisor for a period of two years. It was a new post and he worked under the National Security Advisor M.K. Narayanan, who is the present Governor of West Bengal.

During his term as Defense Secretary of the country, various plans were made for accelerating reconstruction and stimulating higher integrity.

During the tenure as Joint Secretary in the Department of Defense Production under the Ministry of Defense, he occupied a number of important positions.

He functioned as Director in the Board of Defense PSUs like the following:
  • Bharat Dynamics
  • Bharat Electronics
  • Mazagaon Docks
  • Bharat Earth Movers
  • Goa Shipyard
  • Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers (GRSE)
Previously, in the middle of 1980s, Shekhar Dutt acted as Director (Navy) under the Ministry of Defense.

While working in the capacity of the Principal Secretary, Tribal Welfare, Mr. Shekhar Dutt played a pivotal role in drafting various plans and policies comprising specific ventures regarding improvement of various places, assembling merchandising of small forest harvests, and rural advancement via collective forest management method.

He also commenced new ventures for the betterment of standard of drinking water and launched the Food Security Mission.

In addition, Shekhar Dutt held the position of Director of Command Area Development in the Water Resources Ministry where he monitored over 80 principal irrigation ventures in the country.

When he was working as Principal Secretary in the Departments of School Education, Sports & Youth Welfare for the Government of Madhya Pradesh, Shekhar Dutt was attributed with the launch of a ground-breaking project known as Education Guarantee Scheme. This scheme was implemented in those places where the panchayats and other societies operated the schools. The project assisted in spreading primary education in the state to a substantial degree.

When did Shekhar Dutt take over as Governor of Chhattisgarh?

H.E. Mr. Shekhar Dutt took over as the Governor of Chhattisgarh on January 23, 2010.

Other honors conferred to Shri Shekhar Dutt

In the month of September 2009, the name of Mr. Dutt was included to the board of trustees of DeSales University for tenure of three years.

Contact address of Chhattisgarh Governor

The contact details of Shekhar Dutt are as follows:
  • Raj Bhawan
    Tel: 0771 - 2331101/105

List of Governors of Chhattisgarh

Sl. NoName of GovernorsFromTo
1D. N. SahayNov 1, 00Jun 1, 03
2Krishna Mohan SethJun 2, 03Jan 25, 07
3E. S. L. NarasimhanJan 25, 07Jan 23, 10
4Shekhar DuttJan 23, 10Jun 19, 14
5Ram Naresh Yadav(Acting)Jun 19, 14Jul 14, 14
6Balram Das TandonJul 18, 14Incumbent

Last Updated on: September 13, 2014



Which state in India has its own constitution? Jammu and Kashmir is the only Indian state which has its own constitution. The constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, which was adopted on 17 November 1956 and came into effect on 26 January… Read More...
Which state in India is the largest producer of milk?India, which is well-known for its dairy products, is the largest producer of milk, second only to United States (in terms of cow milk). The country produces nearly 50 to 60 million tonnes of milk every year and currently contributes around 9.5 percent of the global… Read More...
Which Indian state has the maximum number of major ports? Nearly 7,500 km long Indian coastline makes the country one of the largest peninsulas in the world. There are nine coastal Indian states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu,… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations