Track Your Constituency

New Delhi Assembly Constituency - Delhi Election 2020

Map of New Delhi Assembly Constituency

 Contituency Map of New Delhi 2020
Email Buy Now 
*Assembly Contituency Map of New Delhi. Disclaimer

Current Sitting MLA of New Delhi Vidhan Sabha Constituency

A.C. NumberA.C. NameSitting MLA
40New DelhiArvind Kejriwal(AAP)

List of Winning MLA's from New Delhi Till Date

YearAC No.AC NameCategoryWinnerSexPartyVotesRunner-UPSexPartyVotes
202040New DelhiGENArvind KejriwalMAAP46758Sunil Kumar YadavMBJP25061
201540New DelhiGENArvind KejriwalMAAP57213Nupur SharmaFBJP25630
201340New DelhiGENArvind KejriwalMAAP44269Smt. Sheila DikshitFINC18405
200840New DelhiGENSmt. Sheila DikshitFINC39778Vijay JollyMBJP25796

New Delhi Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

Name of Assembly ConstituencyNew Delhi
Constituency TypeGeneral (No Reservation)
District NameNew Delhi
Lok Sabha ConstituencyNew Delhi (after the delimitation of 2008)
Total Registered Voters1.44 lakh
Total Registered Male Voters79047
Total Registered Female Voters65461
Total Registered Third Gender Voters8

Main Rivals of New Delhi Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election:

Political Party NameName of CandidatePolitical History
AAPArvind Kejriwal-Two time Chief Minister of Delhi Assembly (2013 and 2015)
-Established Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) along with other Jan Lokpal activists in November 2012.
-He started his active social activism (along with Manish Sisodia and others) in December 1999 by forming a "Parivartan" movement in Delhi's Sundar Nagar area. At that time, he was working as an Assistant Commissioner of Income Tax Department. He took a sabbatical from work in January 2000 to focus on social works. "Parivartan" movement addressed the grievances of the citizens regarding electricity, social welfare schemes, Public Distribution System, income tax, public works, etc.
-In 2005, Kejriwal along with Sisodia started an NGO called Kabir, which focused mainly on RTI and participatory governance.
-Arvind Kejriwal established the Public Cause Research Foundation in 2006 by donating the prize money of his Ramon Magsaysay Award as seed money.
-Kejriwal shot to prominence in Delhi politics and national politics by protesting against the rampant corruption in the Commonwealth Games in 2010 and later in 2011 by joining other social activists (such as Anna Hazare and Kiran Bedi) in the anti-corruption movement through India Against Corruption (IAC) group. It was IAC who first actively demanded the enactment of Jan Lokpal Bill.
INCRomesh Sabharwal-A first-time contestant in electoral politics.
-He was a former student and youth leader. He has been associated with Congres's student wing (National Students Union of India or NSUI) and the youth wing (the Youth Congress) for the last 40 years. Sabharwal is a former Delhi President of NSUI.
BJPSunil Yadav-Sunil Yadav, also a first-timer in electoral politics, is the Delhi President of Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha's (youth wing of BJP).
-Most of his political career is based in Delhi itself. He started his political career as Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha's (BJYM) Mandal President and rose through the ranks to become District President of Yuva Morcha, Delhi General Secretary of Yuva Morcha and finally Delhi President of Yuva Morcha.
-Yadav is an advocate by profession and BJP pitted this young leader against 2-time chief minister Kejriwal to get a large chunk of the youth votes in the New Delhi assembly constituency.
-He is a local candidate here and wants to bank on the local versus outsider campaign.

Winners of New Delhi Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

Winners and Losers of New Delhi Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

CandidatesPolitical PartyVotes Received (Vote Percentage)Turnout
Arvind KejriwalAAP57,213 votes (64.34%)89,207 votes (65.77%)
Nupur SharmaBJP25,630 votes (28.81%)
Kiran WaliaINC4,781 votes (5.37%)
Swami Om JiABHM373 votes (0.41%)

New Delhi Assembly Constituency (formed during the 2008 delimitation) houses the poshest localities of Delhi. A sizeable population of this assembly constituency is government employees, mostly bureaucrats. Some of the most high profile candidates have fought elections from this constituency including the incumbent Chief Minister of Delhi....Read More

  List of the Assembly Constituencies in Delhi  
Const. No.ConstituencyConst. No.ConstituencyConst. No.Constituency
1Narela25Moti Nagar48Ambedkar Nagar (SC)
2 Burari26 Madipur (SC)49 Sangam Vihar
3 Timarpur27 Rajouri Garden50 Greater Kailash
4 Adarsh Nagar28 Hari Nagar51 Kalkaji
5 Badli29 Tilak Nagar52 Tughlakabad
6 Rithala30 Janakpuri53 Badarpur
7 Bawana (SC)31 Vikaspuri54 Okhla
8 Mundka32 Uttam Nagar55 Trilokpuri (SC)
9 Kirari33 Dwarka56 Kondli (SC)
10 Sultan Pur Majra (SC)34 Matiala57 Patparganj
11 Nangloi Jat35 Najafgarh58 Laxmi Nagar
12 Mangol Puri (SC)36Bijwasan59 Vishwas Nagar
13 Rohini37 Palam60 Krishna Nagar
14 Shalimar Bagh38 Delhi Cantt61 Gandhi Nagar
15 Shakur Basti39 Rajinder Nagar62 Shahdara
16 Tri Nagar40 New Delhi63 Seemapuri (SC)
17 Wazirpur41 Jangpura64 Rohtas Nagar
18 ModelTown42 Kasturba Nagar65 Seelam Pur
19 Sadar Bazar43 Malviya Nagar66 Ghonda
20 Chandni Chowk44 R.K. Puram67 Babarpur
21 Matia Mahal45 Mehrauli68 Gokalpur (SC)
22 Ballimaran46 Chhatarpur69 Mustafabad
23 Karol Bagh (SC)47Deoli (SC)70 Karawal Nagar
24Patel Nagar (SC)   

Updated as on February 14, 2020