Godavari Maha Pushkaram of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Godavari Maha Pushkaram 2015 Image

Godavari Maha Pushkaram 2015 Image

The Kumbh Mela of South India known as the Pushkaram commenced on 14 July 2015 in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. This fair is held once in every 12 years for twelve days. A unique feature about the fair this year is that it will be held in two states, Andhra Pradesh and the new born Telangana. This time, the event is doubly auspicious because as per the astronomical calculations it is the Maha Pushkaram, which occurs once in 144 years.

Rajahmundry, the cultural capital of Andhra Pradesh, hosts the Pushkaram fair every twelve years. People come here from far and wide to perform the rituals for one’s ancestors and for pilgrimage to Rajahmundry, which is on the eastern side and at Kovvur on the western side.

Significance of the Pushkaram

• The fair of Pushkaram is dedicated to the worship of 12 sacred rivers of India.
• Each river is associated with a zodiac sign, and according to the movement of Jupiter into a particular zodiac, the fair is held in the banks of that river every 12 years.
• Some of the Zodiac signs are related to multiple rivers.
• The Godavari Pushkaram occurs every 12 years during which period the planet Jupiter passes through all the 12 constellations of the zodiac circle one after another and enters the Leo Zodiac Sign.
• It is believed that during this period energy of the waters of all the 12 holy rivers of India extends to the Godavari. This is the reason why people take a holy dip in Godavari during this period.
• This tradition has not been mentioned in the ancient scriptures but is a part of the Hindu astrological lore.

Maha Pushkaram 2015

This year an estimated 3 crore pilgrims are expected to visit the banks of the Godavari on the occasion of Maha Pushkaram. The government of Andhra Pradesh and the Telangana Government have made elaborate preparations for the Maha Pushkaram, 2015. Some of the features include:

• 275 bathing ghats have been readied to cope with the pilgrim rush.
• Special buses and trains to Rajahmundry have been organised from different cities in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
• Helicopter rides for tourists to view all the ghats at Rajahmundry as well as Kovvur in West Godavari
• Technology is being made use of in the form of laser shows on all twelve days, and interactive voice response service (IVR) for the pilgrims, as well as CCTVs for security, a mobile app for information and grievance addressal, Wi-Fi connectivity etc, for safe conduct of the fair.
• 25 Information booths have been placed in different parts of the city.
• The pilgrims can also get information on ghats, hotels, and roads by giving a missed call to 8333000020
• A big Aarti procession has been organised with the participation of more than a 1000 artistes.
• In all, 1500 crores have been spent to make the event a success.

The First Day of Maha Pushkaram

The beginning of Maha Pushkaram saw the Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu of Andhra Pradesh taking a dip in Godavari at Rajahmundry, while Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao performed the holy bath at Dharmapuri.

Kanchi Shankaracharya Jayandra Sarswathi also took the sacred bath at Rajahmundry.

Pushkaram continues till the time Jupiter progresses to the next Zodiac sign, but the festivities will go on only for 12 days in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Famous Godavari Pushkaram Ghats:

Ghats in East Godavari District:

Rajahmundry Kotilingala Ghat (PMK Ghat)
Rajahmundry Pushkar Ghat
Rajahmundry Markandeya Ghat (Padmavathi Ghat)
Rajahmundry Saraswati Ghat (VIP Ghat)
Rajahmundry (Pushkaralapeta) Gowthami Ghat (Pushkaralapeta Ghat)
Dowleswaram Ramapadalarevu Ghat
Kotipalli Kotipalli Ghat

Ghats in West Godavari District:

Kovvuru Goshpadakshetram Ghat
Narasapuram Valandhari Revu
Kovvuru Sri Krishna Chaitanya Ghat
Kovvuru Sri Srinivasa Ghat
Kovvuru Dandagundarpuntha Revu (Gowthami Ghat)
Kovvuru Ghat near Harijanawada
Kovvuru Seetharama Bathing Ghat
Kovvuru Subrahmanyeswara Swamy Ghat
Kovvuru Bhaktanjaneya Ghat
Kovvuru Ghat at Veerinamma Temple
Narasapuram Lalithamba Ghat
Narasapuram Amareswar Swamy Ghat
Narasapuram Kondalamma Ghat

Godavari Maha Pushkaram Facts

Godavari Maha Pushkaram 2015 Dates – Start Date:14th July 2015; End Date 25th July 2015
Frequency – Every 12 years
Maha Pushkaram Frequency – Every 144 years
Location – Godavari River
Next event – Pushkaram in 2027 and Maha Pushkaram in 2159
Areas to celebrate – Maharashtra, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh
Famous Pushkaram Destinations – Kotipalli, Rajahmundry, Narsapur, Kovvuru

Related Information:

Godavari River and Its Map
East Godavari River Map
East Godavari District Map
West Godavari District Map
Godavari Maha Pushkaram of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana
Information about Maha Kumbh Mela
Maha Kumbh Mela 2013: It is all digital now
Ardh Kumbh in Haridwar