East Godavari District Map

District Map of East Godavari

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of East Godavari Vishakhapatnam ORISSA TELANGANA West Godavari Tuni City Map Yanam (Puducherry)
Print Email Save
*East Godavari District Map highlights the National Highway, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc in East Godavari. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Andhra Pradesh  
Anantpur District Map Guntur District Map East Godavari District Map Chittoor District Map
Anantpur District MapGuntur District MapEast Godavari District MapChittoor District Map
Prakasam District Map Krishna District Map Kurnool District Map Vishakhapatnam District Map
Prakasam District MapKrishna District MapKurnool District MapVishakhapatnam District Map
  Other Districts of Andhra Pradesh >>

East Godavari district covers a vast portion of the delta area of the Godavari river. This district is located on the north-east coast of Andhra Pradesh. It is bounded by Vishakhapatnam district on the north and the State of Orissa, on the east and by the Bay of Bengal on the south and by Khammam and West Godavari district on the west.

It is situated between the northern latitudes of 16* 30' and 18* and between 81* 30' and 82* 30' of the eastern longitudes. It covers an area of 10807 sq. kms. The major places of the East Godavari district are Kakinada, Rajamundry, Tuni, Samarlakot, Amalapuram, Mandapeta, Rajole. According to 1991 census, the population of the district is 4541222, males-2272962 and females-2268260.

Nearly one lakh acre of the coastal district of East Godavari flourish with coconut plantation. To use this natural resource the Government of India and Andhra Pradesh under Swarnjayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana has employed thousands of women in the 'Coir Project' with an expense of Rs.25 crores. The Industries that provide employment to the people and means of earning revenues to the state are Andhra Paper Mill, Plywood unit at Rampachodavaram, Godavari and Nagarjuna Fertilizers, Sugar factories at Samarlakota and Pittahpuram, Dairy, Hatchery and Piggary Farms, Fisheries, Spinning and Saw Mills. People are also engaged in handicrafts like bell metal crafts. The Small Scale Industries of Musical instruments at Pitahpuram is another source of employment for the people.

Thermal Power station at Rajahmundry, Machkand Hydro Power project and Natural gas Power station at Vijjeswaram meets the power requirements of East Godavari district. Dhavaleshwaram Project and Eleru supplies water to most of the places of the district. The headquarters of East Godavari district is Kakinada which is well connected by rail and road. The port of Kakinada is second largest port of Andra Pradesh which is another means of communication.

The East Godavari district is popular destination for pilgrimage, the various pilgrim centers are:
  • Kukkuteswara Temple at Pitahpuram
  • Sri Sathya Narayana Swamy Temple at Annavaram
  • Sri Jagan Mohini Chennakesava Swamy Temple at Ryali
  • Kotilingeswara temple at Rajahmundry
  • Appanapalle temple
  • Kumararamam at Samarlakota
  • Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple at Antarvedi.
Other popular tourist spots of the region are:
  • Balayogi Gardens, Amalapuram
  • Coringa Wild Life Sanctuary, Coringa
  • Kadiyapulanka Leisure Spots, Rajahmundry
  • Papikonda Wild Life Sanctuary, Papikonda
  • Rampachodavaram Water Falls, Rampachodavaram
Few famous educational institutes of East Godavari for higher studies are as follows:
  • Al-Ameer Institute of Management and Technology, Rajahmundry
  • Shri Shiridi Sai Vidya Parishad Law College
  • Veeravalli College of Law
  • Aditya College of Nursing
  • Christian Medical Centre School of Nursing
  • Rangaraya Medical College, Kakainada
  • Srikiran Institute of Ophthalmology, Kakinada
  • Minerva College of Education
  • Bonam Venkata Chalamayya Institute of Technology and Science
  • Bonam Venkata Chalamayya Engineering College
  • JNTU College of Engineering, Kakinada
  • Government Degree College, Razole, and Rajahmundry
  • ASD Govt College For Women, Kakinada
  • Amrutha Arts & Science Degree College
  • Government Degree College, Ravulapalem, and Tuni

Last Updated on : February 28, 2020



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations