Bengaluru (Bangalore) Metro Map

Bengaluru Metro Map

Click here for Customized Maps
Bangalore Metro Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
*Bangalore Metro Map showing Bangalore metro's exisating and proposed routes. Disclaimer

Bengaluru gets its own Metro Rail

Bangalore, the IT hub of India has finally got its own Metro Rail. The urban development minister Mr. Kamal Nath, inaugurated the service which will open to the public starting 4pm this evening. The metro service will run between 6 am to 10 pm daily. The Bangalore Metro, also named Namma Metro (Our Metro) is expected to reduce traffic volumes in congested parts of the city, like the Kempegowda Bus Stand, the Bangalore Bus Stand, Hudson Cirlce and M.G Road. The Bangalore Metro has been missing its inauguration deadline since March 2010 and was finally inaugurate today, October 20th, 2011 and will be open to the public post 4 pm.

About Bengaluru Metro Map

Bangalore or presently called Bengaluru is know as the IT capital of India. With the growth in IT Related businesses in the city, the need for infrastructure development also picked the pace. Hence, the construction of metro system in the city was proposed and subsequently its implementation process took off.

To learn about the route, passengers can browse through the map of Bangalore metro rail. The map is quite detailed and shows the routes to your destination in a lucid manner.

Need for Metro in Bengaluru

The main objective behind the introduction of metro rail in Bangalore is to ease traffic pressure on the roads. The making of metro line has also been encouraged so that travelers keep their vehicles in their garages and avail the services of the public transport. Metro system in the city is considered as the complementary transit mode than a competitive one.

In addition, metro system in Bangalore was also needed for following reasons:
  • To reduce consumption of fuel
  • To check pollution
  • To bring down accident rates
  • To help travelerssave traveling time

Schedule and Frequency of Bengaluru Metro

The construction work of the corridor from Byappanahalli to Cricket Stadium started in December 2006. The network link under Phase I is expected to be fully operational by December 2011, but it has started opeartions from 20th October 2011.

At an initial stage, the frequency of the metro rails will be maintained to every 4 minutes. However, the aim is to ensure a frequency of 3 minutes by 2021. Passengers traveling on east-west corridor will have to spend 33 minutes while it is 28 minutes on north-south corridor. The maximum train speed is 80 kmph.

To know about your routes, you can follow the Bangalore metro map.

Routes shown on Bengaluru Metro Map

The metro trains in Bangalore chug through various residential and commercial areas to help passengers reach their desired location. Well integrated with other modes of public and private transport, the metro on its East-West corridor links Byappanahalli with Mysore Road terminal and on North-South corridor connects Hesarghatta Road Terminal to Puttenahalli.

Bengaluru Metro is Currently Serving the following stations

  • Byappanahalli
  • S.V.Road
  • Indira Nagar
  • Trinity
  • MG Road
  • Halasuru
The metro train routes of East-West corridor and North-South corridor are given below:

1. East-West corridor

Byappanahalli - Old Madras Road – Indiranagar - C.M.H. Road – Ulsoor - Trinity Circle - M.G. Road - Cricket Stadium - Vidhana Soudha - Central College – Majestic - City Railway Station - Magadi Road – Hosahalli - Vijayanagar - Deepanjali Nagar - Mysore Road terminal

2. North-South corridor

Hesarghatta Road Terminal – Mahalakshmi – Rajajinagar - Kuvempu Road- Malleswaram – Swastik – Majestic – Chikpet - City Market - K.R. Road – Lalbagh - South End Circle - Jayanagar – Puttenahalli

For better understanding, you are recommended to go through the Bangalore metro map, which is both clear and comprehensive.

Last Updated on : November 27, 2014