The city of Kondagaon is located in the Indian state of Chhattisgarh. It is a part of the Bastar district of the state. This is a tribal district. Thus the culture and the customs are different here from the other parts of the state.

The city of Kondagaon is an important center for promoting tribal art and architecture. This city is famous for local handicrafts. The terracotta elephants that are sold everywhere in the Kondagaon city is the most famous among the craft items of this place. The craftsmen of this region are also famous for their bell metal work and stone carving. Items made of bamboo and iron of Kondagaon is also very popular among the visitors.

In order to preserve this tradition a group from Saathi trains the upcoming artisans in Kondagaon. This group has also established a good marketing network for the sale of these products in the Indian as well as international market.

The largest section of the total population of the Kondagaon city practices the Hindu religion. There are also some people residing in this Chhattisgarh city who follow the Muslim faith. Goddess Dhanteswari is the most important deity of the city of Kondagaon. Apart from this the various tribal communities of this region have their own faith and worship different deities. Most of them are the deified version of the trees and other natural elements of the forests.

Kondagaon in Chhattisgarh is a famous market town of the India. Many people visit this place on their tribal tour in Chhattisgarh.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013