One of the prominent cities of Chhattisgarh, Surajpur is situated between latitude 23.2167 and longitude 82.8500. Endowed with picturesque landscape, Surajpur is a harmonious blend of traditional values coupled with modern developments. Originally a backward region, the city of Surajpur is one of the rapidly developing cities of Chhattisgarh.

Comprising mainly of the tribal population, Surajpur reflects the rich traditional values and cultural legacies of the bygone days that has percolated to the modern era. Located at a height of 1732 feet above the sea level, the city of Surajpur encompasses a population of 18599.

The majority of the indigenous population of Surajpur speaks Chhattisgarhi which is one form of the Hindi language. Representing the varied cultural pattern and religious fervor of the tribe of the region, Surajpur celebrates several festivals and fairs. The colorful fairs and festivals display the traditional heritage of the local indigenous inhabitants of Surajpur.

The city of Surajpur administratively falls under the jurisdiction of the nagar panchayat of the region. A peaceful city, Surajpur is blessed with immense potentialities to become an industrially developed city of Chhattisgarh. Surajpur has many small scale cottage and handloom industries that help to strengthen the economy of the region. However majority of the population of Surajpur depend on agriculture to earn their living.

Surajpur is well connected with the rest of India by good roads, railways and air. Surajpur is surrounded by the cities of Sarma, Naura, Saoltikra, Paharbula, and Kalua. The nearest airport of Surajpur is situated at Muirpur.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013