Baikunthpur City

Baikunthpur city is located in the geographical space of Korea district in the state of Chhattisgarh. The city is a special industrial area of the state since there are considerable number of coal mines which are spread across the length and breadth of the city. The local dialect of Baikunthpur is Chhattisgarhi and Hindi is the alternate language of the city.

Occupying the north-east front of Chhattisgarh, Korea district covers a total of 5978 sq km. With five blocks and four tehsils, the district came into existence in the year 1998. The city of Baikunthpur was formed as a major division of the district soon after the formation of Korea.

Over the years, Baikunthpur has utilized its hidden potentials well. One of the remarkable achievements of the city in all these years was the establishment and functioning of coal mines within its premises. Coal reserves were always present in the city of Baikunthpur, the only thing needed was to set up an operational base. Ever since the coal industry came up in the land of Baikunthpur, the entire economic scenario of the place has transformed. Today, a major section of people in Baikunthpur are engaged by these coal mines.

Baikunthpur city is accessible to all other major cities of Chhattisgarh through road and rail linkages. While the city is connected to Bilaspur district through a 410 km long road, Raipur can be reached from this city by covering a distance of 438 km. Bilaspur junction is the nearest railway station of Baikunthpur and a train service from Delhi via Anuppur is also available.

It can be said that Baikunthpur of Chhattisgarh state is consistently making successful strides towards a bright and better future.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013