Districts of Manipur

Bishnupur District MapChandel District MapChurachandpur District MapEast Imphal District Map
West Imphal District MapSenapati District MapTamenglong District MapSerchhip District Map
Ukhrul District Map

Manipur, one of the seven states in north-east India has a total area of 22,327 square kilometers. The state is located between latitude 23°83' N and 25°68'N, and longitude 93°E and 94°E. It is bordered by Assam in the west, by Nagaland in the north, and by Mizoram in the south. Manipur shares an international boundary with Myanmar in the east.

The state is divided into nine districts, each with a district headquarter. Imphal is the capital of the state. Other important towns are Churachanpur, Thoubal, and Bishnupur.

Manipur is predominantly hilly, with nine-tenth of the land in the state having a mountain terrain. The state also has some plain area. The plains lie in a valley, surrounded by hills, in the center of the state. The hill-terrain is higher in the north of the state, gradually diminishing towards the south of the state.

The districts which lie in the valley are Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal and Bishnupur. These districts have a small area, but are very populous. Bishnupur district has a large population of migrants from Bihar and Orissa, apart from the ethnic tribal Meities of Manipur. The population density of the district is 341 per square kilometer. The famous Keibul Lamjo national Park falls in the district. Large areas of Manipur are under forests, especially in the north and the south. Senapati district in the north has forest cover of 80%. Other districts with a large forest cover are Ukhrul and Chandel.

Roads are a lifeline of the state as there is no rail link. The road network is most developed in the Thoubal district, with 35 kilometers of national highways and 60 kilometers of district roads. National highway 39 runs through Thoubal district connecting the state with Nagaland and the rest of the country. National Highway 53 connects Silchar in Assam with Imphal in Manipur, and ends at Tamenlong district. The sole airport in the state is at Imphal.

As per the order of the Ibobi Singh government, seven new districts are going to be added, making a total of 16 districts in the state. The new districts that are in the list to be added are Jiribam, Kamjong, Kakching, Tengnoupal, Noney, Pherzawl and Kangpokpi. The hill districts have been divided into two districts each.

Tamenglong district has been divided into Noney and Tamenglong districts, Chandel into Tengnoupal and Chandel districts, Churachandpur into Pherzawl and Churachandpur, Senapati into Kangpokpi and Senapati districts and Ukhrul into Kamjong and Ukhrul districts. Sadar Hills district is also called as the Kangpokpi district.

An order has been issued by the chief minister Okram Ibobi-headed Congress government to appoint Deputy Commissioners and Superintendents of Police for the new districts.


List of Districts in Manipur

Sr. No.DistrictDistrict HQPopulation (2011)GrowthSex RatioLiteracyArea (km2)Density (/km2)
4Imphal EastPorompat4,52,6610.1551101781.95710638
5Imphal WestLamphelpat5,14,6830.1656103186.08519992
10JiribamJiribamSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
11KangpokpiKangpokpiSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
12Kakching districtKakchingSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
13TengnoupalTengnoupalSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
14KamjongKamjongSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
15NoneyNoneySurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending
16PherzawlPherzawlSurvey pendingPendingPendingPendingPendingPending

Source :- http://manipur.gov.in/

Last Updated on : December 20, 2016



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations