Ganjam District Map

District Map of Ganjam

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Ganjam Nayagarh Khordha Puri Kandhamal Gajapati ANDHRA PRADESH
Print Email Save Buy Now 
* Ganjam District Map highlights National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

Divided into coastal plains and hills, the district of Ganjam has a total area of 8206 sq km.With a population of 31, 60, 635 (as per 2001 census), Ganjam has a litracy rate of 60.77% and population density of 385 persons per sq km.

Gnajam has 718.80 ('000 hectares) of gross cropped area. Also the district has two medium and large scale industries with 620 small Scale industries. Animal husbandry is one of the chief economic sectors of the district.

Aryapalli, Athagadapatna, Balkumari, Buguda, Chilika, Bhairabi are the major attractions of Ganjam.

The coastal district of Ganjam is one of the centrally located districts of Odisha. The district covers an area of 8,706 sq. kilometers. The administrative headquarters of the district lies in the town of Chatrapur. The well developed state is reputed for its contribution to the economy of the state of Orissa. The district has also produced four chief ministers of the state.

The Ganjam district is subdivided into a number of administrative units. It comprises of 3 subdivisions, 1 municipality, 23 blocks and 12 tehsils. These units are further subdivided into 3,171 villages and 18 towns.

The district of Ganjam is bound by the district of Gajapati in the south. The district of Phulbani bounds the district in the west. The districts of Nayagarh and Khurda lies in the north of Ganjam. The coastline of the Bay of Bengal borders the district on the east. The physiography of the district is dominated by the hilly terrain of the eastern ghats which is watered by the small rivers that flow from the hills of the region. The small rivers do not form a big catchment area. The most important part of the physiography of the district is the freshwater inland lagoon, the Chilka Lake.

The economy of Ganjam is predominated by the agricultural and the industrial sector. Bhanjanagar, Chatrapur and Berhampur are the recognized industrial estates of the district. The large, medium and the small scale industries facilitate from the well developed infrastructure of the district. The 3,15,300 hectares of forest area in the district is reputed for it preserved biodiversity.

Last Updated on : 8 July 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations