Kalahandi District Map

District Map of Kalahandi

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Kalahandi Baudh Kandhmal Rayagada Koraput Nabarangpur CHHATTISGARH Naupada Balangir
Print Email Save Buy Now 
* Kalahandi District Map highlights National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

Kalahandi, placed at the south-western part of Odisha, covers an area of 7920 sq km. the region is divided into plain and hilly terrains. The district with a population of 1335494 (census 2001) has a population density of 169 persons per sq km.

Kalahandi possesses a total cultivable land of 3, 93, 550 hectares out of which 1, 83, 000 hectares of land is utilized for growing paddy. Three big industries contribute considerably to the economic wellbeing of the district.

Kalahandi pulls huge number of global tourists through some distint places like Amathaguda, Asurgarh, Ampani, Belkhandi, gudahandi and Mohangiri.

Kalahandi district of Orissa encompasses an area 7920 Sq. Km, of which 32 % is covered by forests which is 2,538.01 Sq. Km. It is geographically located between 19° 3' North and 21° 5' North latitude and 82° 30 East and 83° 74' East longitude. Kalahandi district is divided into two Sub-Divisions, seven Tehsils, one Municipality, twelve Police Stations, two notified area councils (N.A.C.),thirteen Blocks and 273 Gram Panchayats. The total number of villages in the district are 2236.

As per 2001 Census, the total population of Kalahandi district is13,35,494 comprising of 6,67,526 males and 6,67,968 females. The density of population in the region is 169 person per sq. km. Out of the the total population, 1,23,5275 is the rural population and 1,00,219 is the urban population.

The district has a number of interesting places to visit such as Phurlijharan, Amathagud, Ampani, Gudahandi, Karlapat, Lanjigarh, Mohangiri, Rabandarh, Asurgarh, Belkhandi, Junagarh etc.

Kalahandi district is located in the South-Western part of Orissa. It is surrounded by the district of Balangir and Nawapara in the North, by the District of Rayagada on the South, by Nawarangpur District and Raipur District of Chhatisgarh on the West and by Rayagada District and Boudh on the East. Bhawanipatna town The District Headquarters is at which stands almost to the Eastern border.

During the ancient period the district of Kalahandi was a princely state of South Kosals. It was. After India gained independence, the princely state of Kalahandi was merged with the state of Orissa on 1st November, 1949.

Last Updated on : 8 July 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations