Khordha District Map

District Map of Khordha

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Khordha Bhubaneshwar City Map Jagatsinghpur Cuttack Puri Ganjam Nayagarh
Print Email Save Buy Now 
* Khordha District Map highlights National Highways, Major Roads, District Headquarter, etc. Disclaimer

Covering a total area of 2813 sq km, Khordha is surrounded by Cuttack, Puri, Ganjam and Nayagarh. According to 2001 census, the total population of the district is 18,77,395, which include 9,86,886 males and 8,90,509 females.

Primarily an agrarian district, Khordha is famous for its handloom industry.

A major chunk of the district's income comes from the production and sale of sarees, lungi etc.

Known as the land of Paika Rebellion, the district boasts of some excellent hindu Maths. Atri, Balipatna, Balugaon and Nandan Kanan are the other attractions of Khordha.

Khordha district is surrounded on the North and North-East by Cuttack District, on the West by Nayagarh District, on the South by Puri District, on the South-West by the Ganjam District. The district constitutes of one Municipal Corporation, two Sub-divisions, two Municipalities, six Assembly Constituencies, seven Tahasils, ten Blocks, two Notified Area Councils (NAC) and two Parliamentary Constituencies.

According to 1991 Census, the total population of Khordha is 1502014 which accounts for 4.75 % of the total population of the State of Odisha. Out of the total population 789334 are males and 712680 are females. The rivers flowing through the district are Kusumi, Kuakhai, Malaguni, Bhargavi, Daya, Kusabhadra, Rana, Budunai etc.

Khordha district is a very popular tourist destination of Orissa. Some of the places of interest near Khordha district are Atri, Balipatna, Banamalipur, Sisupal, Kaipadar, Banpur, Kenduli, Barunai Hill, Khandagiri, Bhubaneswar, Chandapur, Chilka lake, Balugaon, Dhauli, Hirapur, Jatni, Khurda, Nandan Kanan, Narangarh etc.

Khordha was once the Kingdom of the Kalinga and is thus associated with the history of Kalinga. It is located between 85° 37' 30" East latitude and 19 ° 40' to 20° 25' North longitude. It is situated on the National Highway No 5. and is just 20 Km from the capital city of Bhubaneswar. The Khurda district was formed on 1st April, 1993. It was carved from the erstwhile District of Puri which was divided into Puri, Khurda and Nayagarh. In the year 2000, name of the district was changed to Khordha.

Last Updated on : 8 July 2013



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations