Surguja District Map

District Map of Surguja

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Surguja Balrampur Jaspur Raigarh Korba Surajpur Koria
Print Email Save
*Map showing the National Highway, Major roads, other Roads, District Headquarter, Town, etc in the Surguja District, Chhattisgarh Disclaimer

Surguja district is on the northern part of Chhattisgarh State, bordered by the states of Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Madhya Pradesh and has area of about 16,359 sq. km.
It is located between 23° 37' 25'' and 24° 6' 17'' north latitudes and between 81° 34'40'' and 84° 4'40'' east longitudes. The total population of the district is 1,972,094 including 1,000,050 males and 972,044 females.

Nearly 90% of the population of Surguja is depended on agriculture and engaged in the cultivation of cereals, oil seeds, pulses, and fruits or vegetables. The district mainly produces rice. The main tribes Nagesiya, Oraon, Baiga, Kanwar, Panika, and Dand Korwa are depended on agriculture. On the hilly areas grains like maize, barley, kodo, madua, kutki, bajra, and gondali are grown. The tribal people are dependent on the various forest products like fruits, roots of various plants, lac and honey for their survival. They even collect tendu patta, char, amla, hawai, and sal leaves and sell it directly to various government and non government organizations as well as in the open market.

The branch line on Bilaspur-Katani line of the South Eastern Railway is the only railway connection in the Surguja District. The state is linked with different states of India through, State Highway No 1, State Highway No 10 and State Highway No 14. The NTPC Korba and Hydro-Electricity Chachai (Amarkantak) supplies power to whole district of Surguja.

Tourists come to Surguja district to visit the following places:
  • Deepadih
  • Gauri-Shankar temple at Deogarh
  • Ramgarh Hill
  • Kailash Caves
  • Shivpur Shiv Temple
  • Budha Temple at Mainpat
  • Nageshwar Shiv Temple
  • Tata Pani (a hot water source in the Balrampur block)
  • Thin- Thini Patthar
  • Pawai Water Fall
  • Kudargarhi Devi
Few colleges of the district of Surguja are:
  • Holy Cross women's college, Ambikapur
  • Govt. P.G. College, Ambikapur
  • Govt. Women's Degree College, Ambikapur
  • Govt. Polytechnic College

Last Updated on : 08/08/2013



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations