Districts of Chhattisgarh

Bastar District MapDhamtari District MapJashpur District MapKorba District Map
Raigarh District MapSurguja District MapBilaspur District MapDurg District Map
Kanker District MapKoriya District MapRaipur District MapDantewada District Map
Janjgir-Champa District MapKabirdham District MapMahasamund District MapRajnandgaon District Map
Balrampur District MapSurajpur District MapSukma District MapBemetara District Map
Kondagaon District MapBalod District MapGariaband District MapBijapur District Map
Narayanpur District MapBaloda Bazar District MapMungeli District Map

Chhattisgarh, one of India's newest states carved out of Madhya Pradesh, has a total area of 1,36,034 square kilometers, making it the ninth largest in the country. The state located between 21° 30' N and 82° E, is bounded by Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand in the north, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra in the west, Orissa in the east, and Andhra Pradesh in the south.

Chhattisgarh has eighteen districts. The northern and southern districts in the state lie in hilly areas, while the central districts lie in plains. The Mahanadi River and its tributaries flow through the central part of the state. Most of the central districts have areas under rice cultivation. Raipur is the capital of the state and the largest city. Some of the district headquarters and important towns are Bilaspur, Korba, Baikunthpur, Raigarh, and Durg.

Northern Districts

Three districts of Koriya, Jashpur and Surguja come under the Surguja division in the north. Most of the area is hilly and forested. Surguja district has bauxite deposits.

Central Districts

The central districts are the industrial hubs of the state. The districts of Durg, Kwardha, and Rajnandgaon come under Durg division. Raipur, Dhamtari, and Mahasamund come under Raipur Division. Bilaspur, Korba, Janjgir Champa, and Raigarh come under Bilaspur Division. These districts are the most populated in the state.

Bilaspur town in the district is the zonal headquarters of the South East Central railways and an important rail junction for the entire state. Durg, Rajnangaon, and Raipur are the other main railway junctions in the state. Raipur and Bilaspur towns are the only towns with airports.

Korba and Bilaspur towns have power plants and are electricity producing hubs of the state. Raipur, Korba, Raigarh and Bilaspur are big centers for steel industry in the country. Durg district is the home of the Bhilai Steel Plant.

Southern Districts

The southern districts Kanker, Narayanpur, Bastar, Bijapur and Dantewada lie in the Deccan Plateau. These are part of the Bastar division of the state and have a large tribal population. Most of the land in these districts is forested.

List of Districts in Chhattisgarh

Sr. No.DistrictDistrict HQPopulation (2011)GrowthSex RatioLiteracyArea (km2)Density (/km2)
2Baloda BazarBaloda Bazar******
12Janjgir ChampaNaila Janjgir161970722.94%98673.07**
13JashpurJashpur Nagar85166914.60%100567.92**

Last Updated on : August 25, 2014



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations