Universities in India

Location of Universities in India

Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Universities in India
Email Buy Now 
*The Map showing the Top Most Universities in India.


India has both public and private universities. Public universities are supported by the Indian government and the state governments. Private universities are run by different organisations, groups and societies. In India, universities are recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC), under the control of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956. Fifteen additional professional councils are also established that help control the different facets of accreditation and coordination. Besides the different type of universities, there are also some institutes in the country that are considered as the "institutes of national importance". There are four types of universities in India - Central Universities, State Universities, Deemed Universities and Private Universities.

Central Universities

Central universities are those universities that are set up by an act of the Parliament. The funding for maintenance and development of these universities is provided by the University Grants Commission. There are 45 central universities in India, out of which 40 come under the purview of the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The Indira Gandhi National Open University and the Central Agricultural University, Imphal do not get funding from the UGC. Instead, they get assistance from the Ministry of Human Resource Development and the Ministry of Agriculture respectively. Some of the central universities are Allahabad University, the University of Delhi and Banaras Hindu University (BHU).

State Universities

State universities are those universities that are recognised by an act of the Parliament and set up by the same. Currently, there are 318 state universities in India, including the oldest universities of the country; namely, the University of Madras, the University of Calcutta and the University of Mumbai. According to Section 12 (B) of the UGC Act, the state universities that were formed after 17 June 1972 are not eligible to receive any grant/fund from the UGC, the central government or any organisation that already receives grants from the government. The establishment of state universities and provisions for grant of funds are made by the state governments.

Private Universities

Private universities are those universities that are neither governed nor operated by government. They are established through a central or state act by any sponsoring body like any society registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860 or any other law that for a time being is in force in any state or public trust or a company that is registered under Section 25 of the Companies Act, 1956. Private universities must be recognised by the UGC so that the degrees awarded by these universities to the students hold some value and importance.

Deemed Universities

There are some institutes offering higher education that are not universities but are mostly recognised for their high quality education. These institutes are given the status of a university. Such institutions are called deemed university or deemed-to-be-university. The UGC grants the status of university. These institutes with the status of deemed university enjoy full autonomy to set up their course work and syllabus as well as guidelines regarding admissions, fees and other instructions. Symbiosis Institute of Business Management, National Institute of Technology and Narsee Monjee Institute of Management are some of the deemed universities in India.

Ref: MHRD Official Website


Universities in India

Central Universities
HaryanaKeralaTamil Nadu
Jammu KashmirOrissa 
State wise Universities
Universities In Arunachal PradeshUniversities In Jammu And KashmirUniversities In Orissa
Universities In AssamUniversities In JharkhandUniversities In Punjab
Universities In BiharUniversities In KarnatakaUniversities In Rajasthan
Universities In ChhattisgarhUniversities In KeralaUniversities In Sikkim
Universities In GoaUniversities In Madhya PradeshUniversities In Tamil Nadu
Universities In GujaratUniversities In MaharashtraUniversities In Tripura
Universities In HaryanaUniversities In ManipurUniversities In Uttar Pradesh
Universities In Himachal PradeshUniversities In MeghalayaUniversities In Uttarakhand
Universities In Andhra PradeshUniversities In NagalandUniversities In West Bengal
Union Territories wise Universities
Universities In ChandigarhUniversities In DelhiUniversities In Pondicherry
IIT Universities
IIT bhuIIT indoreIIT mumbai
IIT bhubaneswarIIT kanpurIIT patna
IIT delhiIIT kharagpurIIT rajasthan
IIT gandhinagarIIT madrasIIT roorkee
IIT guwahatiIIT mandiIIT ropar
IIT hyderabad  
NIT Universities
NIT durgapurNIT kurukshetraNIT tiruchirappalli
NIT hamirpurNIT rourkelaNIT warangal
NIT jamshedpurNIT silcharNIT calicut
NIT karnatakaNIT srinagar

Top Universities in India

Ahmedabad gujarat UniversityMalaviya national institute of technology jaipur
AICTEMangalore University
Aligarh muslim UniversityManipur University
Assam UniversityMathura University
Babasaheb bhimrao ambedkar UniversityMaulana azad national institute of technology bhopal
Banaras hindu UniversityMG University
Bangalore University collegesMizoram University
Bangalore UniversityMother teresa womens University
Barkatullah UniversityMotilal nehru national institute of technology
Bhavnagar universityMumbai University courses
Bikaner UniversityMumbai University
Central institute of agricultural UniversityMysore University
Chandra shekhar azad University of agriculture and technologyNTR University of health sciences
Cochin University of science and technologyNagaland University
Council of architectureNagpur University
Delhi UniversityNational commission for minority educational institutions
Doctor harisingh gaur vishwa vidyalayaNorth eastern hill University
Guru ghasidas vishwavidyalayaNorth gujarat University
Guru nanak dev University in amritsarOpen University
Gurukul kangri UniversityOsmania University hyderabad
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garhwal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm kanchipuram
Hemwati nandan bahuguna garwhal UniversityPandit dwarka prasad mishra iIITdm
Hnb garhwal UniversityPondicherry University
Hyderabad central UniversityPune University
IGNOURajiv gandhi indian institute of management
Indian council of historical researchRajiv gandhi technical University
Indian council of philosophical researchRanchi University
Indian council of social science researchSanskrit University
Indian institute of advanced studies iiasSardar vallabhbhai national institute of technology
Indian institute of management bangaloreSastra deemed University
Indian institute of management calcuttaSaurashtra University
Indian institute of management kozhikodeySikkim University
Indian institute of science bangaloreSouth gujarat University
Indira gandhi national tribal UniversityTamil University
Indore UniversityTejpur University
Indraprastha University delhiTripura University
Jalandhar UniversityUniversity grants commission
Jamia millia islamia delhiUniversity of agriculture and technology
Jawaharlal nehru University delhiUniversity of delhi
Jiwaji UniversityUniversity of hyderabad
Kamaraj UniversityUniversity of kolkata
Karnataka state open UniversityUniversity of lucknow
Karnataka UniversityUniversity of petroleum for energy studies
Madhya pradesh bhoj UniversityVeer narmad south gujarat University gujarat
Madurai UniversityVisva bharati shantiniketan
Maharaja sayajirao University barodaVisvesvaraya national institute of technology

Last Updated on : February 10, 2016