Nuclear Power Plants in India

Nuclear Power Plants Map
separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Nuclear Power Plants in India
Print Email Save
*The Map showing major nuclear power plants of India.


After gas, wind power, Coal, and hydroelectricity, nuclear power is India's fifth-largest source of energy generation. India currently has 22 active nuclear reactors with a total installed capacity of around 6,780 MW. As India gained independence, a nuclear energy program was established under the leadership of Homi J. Bhabha.

Mumbai is the site of the first nuclear reactor to be built in Asia, the Apsara Research Reactor. India has a modest indigenous uranium stockpile and is reliant on uranium supplies from other nations to feed its nuclear power sector. Russia has been a key supplier of nuclear materials to India since the 1990s.


As a component of its infrastructure expansion agenda, the Indian government is committed to developing nuclear power capacity. The Centre has set numerous ambitious aims for the coming years to accomplish this.

For 34 years, India was primarily prohibited from trading in nuclear facilities and materials because of its weapons program, hampering its development of civil nuclear energy until 2009.

Moreover, as a result of a conflict between Indian civil liability law and international treaties, the availability of foreign technology in nuclear research has been hindered since 2010. In September 2008, the 48-nation Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG) granted India access to civilian nuclear material and equipment from other nations.

Operational Nuclear Power plants in India

Power PlantLocationOperatorTotal Capacity (MW)
KudankulamTamil NaduNPCIL2000
NaroraUttar PradeshNPCIL440

Nuclear Power Plant Under construction

Power PlantLocationOperatorCapacity
KalpakkamTamil NaduBHAVINI500
Kudankulam Unit 3,4,5, and 6Tamil NaduNPCIL4000
Kakrapur unit 4GujaratNPCIL700
Rajasthan Unit 7 and 8RajasthanNPCIL1400

Last Updated on: February 17, 2022