Mumbai Stock Exchange

Mumbai Stock Exchange popularly known as the BSE is Asia's oldest stock exchange. The Exchange is located at Dalal Street in Mumbai. Originally it was called 'The Native Share & Stock Brokers Association' in 1875. It succeeded in earning permanent recognition from India Government in 1956 under the Securities Contracts Act.

It plays an immense role in the Capital Market of India. The Mumbai Stock Exchange is presently decentralized. There is a panel of Directors who are engaged in the management of the exchange effectively.

These board members include representatives of trading companies and other professionals. Besides, there is a Managing Director at the apex. This board of Directors is also engaged in the formulation of policies, programs and guidelines and controls the entire exchange.

The Mumbai Stock Exchange has within its fold 417 Indian cities and towns. The year 2004-2005 was very fortunate for the Mumbai Stock Exchange when it experienced a phenomenal growth. The BOLT or BSE's On Line Trading System has the certification of BS 7799-2-2002. On the other hand the clearance, surveillance and settlement functions of Mumbai Stock Exchange has the certification of ISO 9001:2000.

Major companies listed at the Mumbai Stock Exchange are

Aptech Arvind Mills Bajaj Auto
Bharat Forge Bharat Heavy Electricals Bharat Petroleum
Bharti Enterprises Birla Corporation Cadila Healthcare
Cipla Crompton Greaves Dabur
Dempo Dr. Reddy's Laboratories HDFC Bank
Hero Honda Hindalco Industries Hindustan Motors
Hindustan Petroleum Hindustan Unilever Limited Housing Development Finance     Corporation
ICICI Bank ITC Limited Indian Oil Corporation
Infosys Services Infosys Technologies     Limited Mahanagar Telephone Nigam     Limited
Marico Maruti Udyog NIIT
National Thermal Power     Corporation Nectar Lifesciences Oil and Natural Gas Corporation
Pantaloon Group Ranbaxy Laboratories Reliance Industries
Sasken Communication     Technologies Satyam Computer     Services Ltd. Scandent Solutions
State Bank of India Suzlon Energy Tata Consultancy Services
Tata Motors Torrent Pharmaceuticals Torrent Power
United Breweries Group Videsh Sanchar Nigam Virinchi
Wipro Technologies Zee Network Zensar Technologies

Last Updated on 16 March 2011

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations