Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Mumbai

The Indian Institute of Technology Bombay commonly known as IIT Bombay or IITB, is situated in Powai, Mumbai. This autonomous university is the 2nd oldest institute campus among the Indian Institutes of Technology system and also Maharashtra's largest National Institute. Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay is the 2nd IIT which was set up in 1958.

Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay has 2 schools, 10 multi-disciplinary centres, 14 departments.

Schools of Excellence in IITB

  1. Shailesh J Mehta School of Management (SJMSOM)
  2. School of Biosciences and Bioengineering Bioschool
Multi-Disciplinary Centres in IIT Bombay

1. Computer Aided Design Center (CAD)
2. Centre for Aerospace Systems Design and Engineering (CASDE)
3. Centre for Research in NanoTechnology and Sciences (CRNTS)
4. Computer Centre
5. Centre for Environmental Science and Engineering (CESE)
6. Centre for Distant Engineering Education Programme (C-DEEP)
7. Centre for Studies in Resources Engineering (CSRE)
8. Centre for Formal Design and Verification of Software (CFDVS)
9. Centre for Technology Alternatives for Rural Areas (CTARA)
10. Sophisticated Analytical Instrument Facility(SAIF)

Departments in Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay

1. Aerospace Engineering
2. Chemistry
3. Chemical Engineering
4. Civil Engineering
5. Earth Sciences
6. Computer Science & Engineering
7. Energy Science and Engineering
8. Electrical Engineering
9. Humanities & Social Science
10. Mathematics
11. Industrial Design Centre
12. Mechanical Engineering
13. Physics
14. Metallurgical Engineering Materials Science

Academic Programmes at Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay

IIT Bombay offers diverse programmes in pure sciences, engineering, design, management and humanities.

1. Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech.) in Chemical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Engineering Physics, Metallurgical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Materials Science.

2. Dual Degree ( M.Tech., 5 years)

3. Master of Science (MSc.) in Biotechnology, Applied Statistics and Informatics (ASI), Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Physics, Mathematics.

4. Master of Design (M Des) in Visual Communication, Industrial Design, Animation, Interaction Design,

5. Master of Technology (MTech.) in Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Information Technology, Earth Sciences (Geoexploration), Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science, Corrosion Science and Engineering, Energy Systems Engineering, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research (IEOR), Environmental Science and Engineering, Reliability Engineering, Nanoscience, Systems and Control Engineering,.

6. Master of Design (MDes.),

7. Master of Management (MMgmt.),

8. Master of Philosophy (MPhil.) in Planning and Development

9. Doctor of Philosophy (PhD.) in all the engineering disciplines, science disciplines, interdisciplinary areas, humanities and Social Sciences

Besides these, the Indian institute of technology, Bombay, also provides inter-disciplinary programmes on

1. Corrosion Science & Engineering
2. Systems and Control Engineering
3. Industrial Engineering and Operations Research (IEOR)

Students for the undergraduate programmes at Indian Institute of Technology, Powai are selected through Joint Entrance Examination of the IITs.

IIT Bombay has been ranked as third best institute of Science and Technology in Asia.

Last Updated on : March 23, 2016

Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations