Home   »   Education Blogs   »   List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners (1954 – 2019)

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners (1954 – 2019)

Published on: November 14, 2018 | Updated on: May 30, 2019
List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners

Bharat Ratna is the highest pedestal-holding civilian award in India.

Brief View of Bharat Ratna Award Winners

This article was updated on May 28, 2019.


Instituted in the year 1954, Bharat Ratna is India’s most prestigious, highest pedestal-holding civilian award. It ranks seventh in the order of precedence. Being a merit-based award, it is presented to the holders without any distinction/ discrimination on the basis of race, position, sex, occupation etc. The Bharat Ratna Award is presented “in recognition of exceptional service/ performance of the highest order”

Before 2011, Bharat Ratna was only given for contribution in the fields of “science, arts, literature and public services”. However, “any field of human endeavor” was also included in December 2011. While the Bharat Ratna award is presented by the President of India, the recommendations are made by the Prime Minister. A maximum of 3 Bharat Ratnas can be awarded in a year. Beginning in 1954, several esteemed people have made it to the list of Bharat Ratna award winners. Here we present to you a complete list of the Bharat Ratna Award Winners.

Article Name
List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners (1954 - 2019)
Here, we bring you the complete details of Bharat Ratna Award winners from the year 1954 - 2019.


Showing 3 Comments :

Government of India must have to consider about Shaheed Bhagat Singh and his Fellows to Award Bharat Ratna.


It is astonishing that the list of Bharat Ratna Awards does not include the name of Mohd. Rafi whose voice is supposed to be God’s own voice. Very sad.

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations