Forest Vegetation Map of India

Forest Map of India

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Map showing open and dense Forest in India. Disclaimer

India is a very big country and it houses different types of forests and woodlands. These forests include protected forests or reserved forests. Prior to the independence of the country, the forests of the country were protected under the Indian Forest Act, 1927.

Following the freedom of the country, the Indian Government has preserved the status of the prevailing protected and reserved forests of the country. The protected forests of India can be broadly categorized into two types - undemarcated protected forests and demarcated protected forests and this categorization has been made on whether the boundaries of the forest have been delineated by an official declaration.

The abundant and varied flora and fauna of India are housed in 13 biosphere reserves, 89 national parks, and more than 400 wildlife sanctuaries located throughout the nation.

The different types of forests of India are classified below:
  • Tropical rainforests
  • Temperate deciduous forests
  • Himalayan subtropical pine forests
  • Indian tidal or mangrove forests
  • Indian dry deciduous forests
  • Humid deciduous forests of the Eastern Highlands
  • Dry evergreen forests of the East Deccan Region
  • Monsoon forests
Approximately 20% of the overall forest cover of India is located in the state of Madhya Pradesh. States like Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, and Arunachal Pradesh also house a considerable volume of forests.

The second biggest land use in the country after farming is forests. Forests encompass 67.83 million hectares of area in India which represents 20.64% of the nation's geographical territory, varying from the arid zone forests to Himalayan temperate forests.

Last Updated on : April 25, 2015

  Buy this Map  



Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share to Twitter Share