Botanical Survey of India

The Botanical Survey of India (BSI) at Dehradun is under the supervision of the Union Ministry of Environment and Forests. It monitors botanical resources by analyzing their occurrence, distribution, ecology, economic utility, conservation, environment impact, etc.

A remarkable repository of information of resources, chronicled and live, the BSI plays an important role in fulfilling India's commitments to various international conventions.

The Botanical Survey of India in Dehradun (Northern Circle) was established in Dehradun in 1956. Its present jurisdiction comprises Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh and Delhi, covering 4 biological zones with a great range of climatic conditions-
  • Trans- Himalayas
  • Western Himalayas
  • Gangetic plains
  • Semiarid
The major functional units of the circle for undertaking various research activities are: herbarium, museum, library, desktop publishing (computer) unit, photography and cartography unit and experimental botanic garden.

The Botanical Survey of India is an important center for research in plant systematics and taxonomy in North India. Its main task is to carry out florist studies of areas under its jurisdiction. About 372 intensive and extensive survey tours and 15 multidisciplinary expeditions have been undertaken till date to 93 districts and 2 Union Territories.

Internationally known by the acronym BSD, the herbarium is a major center of taxonomic and floristic research in North India. It serves as an independent research institute for the award of Ph.D degree by various universities. It contains about 1,07,380 recorded specimens. Its museum has over 1,500 samples of various plant groups.

The Circle maintains 2 experimental gardens at Pauri:
  • 'National Gymnosperms Collection' at Nagdev block
  • 'Nature Reserve' at Khirsu
The Botanical Survey of India at Dehradun acts as the national custodian of flora through exploration, enumeration and conservation of floral diversity.

Last Updated on 14 March 2013