The Himalayan Foothills

The Himalayan foothills, also known as the sub-Himalaya or the Shivaliks, is a majestic sight to look at! From Jammu, the Himalayan foothills culminates into a continuous zone through the Kangra valley, and then extends, through the Sirmaur district, to Dehradun, and further on the Bhabbar tracts of Garhwal and Kumaon.

The longitudinal valleys that lie between the Shivaliks and the greater Himalayas, are known as Dun valleys; and Dehradun is a significant example of such valleys with a length of 35 kilometers and width of 25 kilometers.

Situated in the mountain ranges of the lower Himalayas of Dehradun, is one of the exquisite resorts of the Himalayan foothills, which speaks for its beautiful ambiance and locale.

But the "Doon valley" has been through a drastic transition over the years. During the 19th century, the hills were covered with a dense growth of acacia and pine forests, but in less than two generations, the entire scenario has changed.

Although the Himalayan foothills in many places have given way to a badlands topography of knife edge ridges, it is still a treat to the tourists. The hilly tracts of Dehradun facilitate the travelers to indulge into many adventure sports such as:
  • trekking
  • jeep safari
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • camping
  • mountain biking
  • para gliding
  • many other water-sports like water skiing,rowing, kayaking, canoing, fishing and angling, river rafting and so on.
Among the most important tourist spots of the Himalayan foothills in Dehradun are:
  • Robber's Cave
  • Mundali
  • Bidhauli
  • Sahastradhara
  • Rajaji National Park
  • Tapovan.
  • Kalanga monument
  • Asan Barrage
  • Lachhiwala
Therefore, the Himalayan foothills of Dehradun, which might seem to be rugged and harsh, has its share of ethereal beauty. So why not explore what nature has in store in the Himalayan foothills of Dehradun!

Last Updated on 14 March 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations