Religious Places in Delhi

Religious places in Delhi are the perfect destination for one to learn about spiritualism. Delhi has its own vast history and some of the ancient religious places in Delhi are part of that magnanimous glory.

Every religion has a religious place in Delhi. Hindus have temples, Muslims have mosques, Sikhs have gurudwaras while Christians have churches. So the religious places of Delhi reflects in the true spirit of secularism of India.

So if you are at Delhi or planning to visit Delhi, no matter to which religion you belong to, you must visit the following religious places in Delhi to witness the above mentioned truth :

  • Akshardham Temple : This newly built temple is spread across 30acres of land near the banks of Yamuna and has been architecturally inspired from various ancient temples of India.
  • Birla Temple : One of the oldest temples in Delhi, it is also called Birla Mandir and Lakshmi Narayan Temple. Its just 2 kilometers away from the Connaught Place.
  • Lotus Temple : Also known as Bahai Temple or Temple of Peace, this place in Delhi is the best one to gain knowledge on spirituality.
  • Jama Masjid : This is the largest and one of the most beautiful mosques in India built by Shah Jahan and is the finest specimen of the Mughal architecture.
  • Safdarjung Tomb : The architectural style of this tomb is referred to be one of the last Mughal styles of architecture.
  • Sis Ganj Gurudwara : This gurudwara is located on the site where Guru Tegh Bahadur Singh was martyred on the orders of Mughal king Aurangzeb.
  • Chattarpur Temple : This is the famous Goddess Durga temple in Delhi. It is built in South Indian style.
  • Bangla Sahib : This famous gurudwara is located near Connaught Place. It is dedicated to Guru Harikishen Sahib.

Last Updated on 04 July 2011



Which state in India has its own constitution? Jammu and Kashmir is the only Indian state which has its own constitution. The constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, which was adopted on 17 November 1956 and came into effect on 26 January… Read More...
Which state in India is the largest producer of milk?India, which is well-known for its dairy products, is the largest producer of milk, second only to United States (in terms of cow milk). The country produces nearly 50 to 60 million tonnes of milk every year and currently contributes around 9.5 percent of the global… Read More...
Which Indian state has the maximum number of major ports? Nearly 7,500 km long Indian coastline makes the country one of the largest peninsulas in the world. There are nine coastal Indian states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu,… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations