Idukki District Map

District Map of Idukki

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
District Map of Idukki
Print Email Save
*Map showing national highway, major roads, rivers, district headquarter, etc in Idukki District of Kerala. Disclaimer

  Major Districts of Kerala  
Ernakulam District Map Malappuram District Map Kollam District Map Palakkad District Map
Ernakulam District MapMalappuram District MapKollam District MapPalakkad District Map
Kannur District Map Thiruvananthapuram District Map Kottayam District Map Kozhikode District Map
Kannur District MapThiruvananthapuram District MapKottayam District MapKozhikode District Map
   other districts of Kerala  >>

Idukki is one of the 14 districts that form the Indian state of Kerala. It is the second biggest district of Kerala. The headquarters of the Idukki district are based at Kuyilimala, Painavu. It was created on January 26, 1972. The literacy rate of the district is 92.2%.

Geographical features of Idukki District

The Idukki district covers a total area of 1,971.14 sq miles or 5,105.22 km2, making it the 2nd biggest district of the state of Kerala after Palakkad. The district forms 12.9% of the total area of Kerala.

Approximately 97% of the overall area of the Idukki district is encompassed by jungles and craggy mountains. The altitude of the place is 1,200 meters or 3,900 feet above sea surface.

The district shares its boundaries with the districts of Kottayam in the southwest, Pathanamthitta in the south, Thrissur in the north, Ernakulam in the northwest and Dindigul, Coimbatore, and Theni in the east (Tamil Nadu).

The Anamudi Peak, which is the tallest peak in South India and a part of the Western Ghats Mountain Range, is situated in this district. The altitude of this peak is 8,842 feet or 2,695 meters. The major rivers of the district are the Thodupuzhayar, Periyar, and Thalayar rivers.

Population of Idukki District

According to the census conducted in 2011, the population of the district is 1,129,221. The density of population is 259 /km2 or 671 per sq mile.

Administrative divisions of Idukki District

The subdivisions or taluks in the district are Udumbanchola, Devikulam, Thodupuzha and Peerumade. There are 65 villages in these subdivisions. The district houses eight community development blocks and they are Adimali, Devikulam, Azhutha, Nedumkandom, Idukki, Kattappana, Thodupuzha and Elamdesom.

Educational institutes in Idukki District

Given below are the names of the famous educational institutes in the district:

Engineering Colleges

  1. University College of Engineering Thodupuzha
  2. Government Engineering College, Painavu
  3. College of Engineering Munnar
  4. Mar Baselios Christian College of Engineering and Technology
Arts and Science Colleges

  1. Government College, Munnar
  2. Government College, Kattappana
  3. Marian College, Kuttikkanam
  4. M.E.S College, Nedumkandam
  5. Newman College, Thodupuzha
  6. N.S.S College, Rajakumari
  7. St. Joseph College Moolamattam
  8. Mar Baselios College Adimaly
  9. Pavanathma College Muricassery

Tourist attractions in Idukki District

The district is famous for its scenic hill stations, wildlife reserves, spice orchard trips, mountain trails, dams, and elephant rides. The top-rated tourist destinations in Idukki district are as follows:

Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary, Anakkara, Idukki, Eravikulam National Park, Kattappana, Kalvari Mount, Mangaladevi Temple, Malankara Dam, Mattupetty, Marayoor, Munnar (hill station), Devikulam (hill station), Meenuliyanpara, Pallivasal, Nadukani Tower, Ramakkalmedu, Rajamala, Thommankuthu, and Thekkady.

Wildlife in Idukki District

There are many protected areas and wildlife reserves in the district such as Kurinjimala Sanctuary in the east, Periyar Tiger Reserve in the south, Eravikulam National Park, Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary in the northeast, Pampadum Shola National Park in the south, Anamudi Shola National Park in the north, and Thattekad Bird Sanctuary in the west.

These protected areas and wildlife reserves are particularly famous for housing the following imperiled and rare varieties of wildlife:

  1. Nilgiri Tahr
  2. Tiger
  3. Nilgiri Wood-pigeon
  4. Grizzled Giant Squirrel
  5. Gaur
  6. Elephant
  7. Purple Frog
  8. Sambar Deer
  9. Neelakurinji

Last Updated on : 06/08/2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations