East Central Railway Zone

Map of East Central Railway Zone

East Central Railway Zone Map
Email Buy Now
*Map showing the East Central Railway Zone in India. Disclaimer

East Central Railway Zone

The East Central Zone is one of the six new zones set up by the Indian Railways. It came into existence on 8th September, 1996. East Central Zone covers a great network of around 3600km and track kilometer of 5250km running through Bihar, Jharkhand and areas of Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh.


With its headquarter at Hajipur in Bihar, the jurisdiction of East Central Zone consists of Danapur, Sonpur, Samastipur, Dhanbad and Mughalsarai divisions.

The region under Danapur division covers a length of 750km, spanning over two states, Bihar and U.P.

The division of Sonpur covers around 500km covering the north side of Ganga and western areas of Gandak River.

The Samastipur division covers a length of 650km running through the densely populated areas on the geographical limits of Kosi, Gandak, and Baghmati etc.

The Mughalsarai division houses, an electric locomotive shed, (which has a capacity of around 150 locomotives,) a diesel locomotive shed, (which houses 53 locomotives,) a 170 bed divisional hospital and an ROH Shed.

New Developments

With the introduction of 136 pairs (both up and down lines) of new trains in the five divisions, it now offers connectivity to all the major cities. Indian Railways has increased the frequency of about 75 mail and express trains while 26 pairs of trains have been added to meet the requirements of the travelers from different areas of the zone. Around 100 halts have been approved till now.

There has been an increase in the number of computerized counters for reservation of passengers and the number of such counters has gone up to 125 and the number of unreserved ticketing counters has reached 320.


The major capital investments of the East Central Zone are flown into track regeneration, telecommunications, construction and repair of railway bridges, erection of new lines, signaling computerization, passenger amenities, track renewals, gauge conversion, workshops, and electrification projects. The development of the East Central Zone will certainly lead to the prosperity of the area.

Last Updated on 12/18/2012




Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations