Western Railway Zone

Western Railway Zone Map

Western Railway Zone Map
Print Email Save Buy Now
*Map showing the Western Railway Zone of India. Disclaimer

Unmatched Western Railway Zone

The Western Zone came into existence after the merger of the Bombay, Baroda and Central Indian Railway with Saurashtra, Rajputana and Jaipur State Railways on November 5, 1951. With Broad Gauge track of around 4100km, Meter Gauge track of around 1400km and Narrow Gauge track of 600km, the Western Zone covers a total route of around 6100km.

The Western Zone covers the whole of Gujarat, and a few areas of Rajasthan and MP. It consists of six divisions viz. Mumbai, Ratlam, Bhavnagar, Vadodara, Rajkot and Ahmadabad. The Western Coast has a number of ports supported by the Western Railways such as Bhavnagar, Mundra, Rozi, Bedi, and Kandla, which play a vital role in the development of Indian economy.


On an average, the Western Zone serves three million passengers every day. Around 750 trains keep running on its tracks round the clock, which include both mail and passenger trains. Around 120 stations in the Western Zone have fully computerized railway reservation system, 93 railways stations have unreserved ticketing and around 260 stations have computerized unreserved ticketing. It has implemented the Train Management System till Virar providing real time information of the movement of the trains to the travelers. The Western Zone has introduced 15 car trains.

The tourist destinations falling under the Western Zone include Rarnetkar in Rajkot division, Churchgate and Borivali in Bombay or Mumbai Central, Mandu, Chittorgarh, Ujjain and Indore in Ratlam division, Somnath, Junagarh in Bhavnagar, Ahmadabad, Dakor, Sankheda and Pavagarh in Vadodara division.

Western Railways has become a very important part of Indian Economy. The steps taken towards the development of the Zone have yielded very positive results. It is the first railway zone to start an exclusive train for ladies between Churchgate and Virar. It has the pride of running three Rajdhani trains from Mumbai and one from Ahmadabad, through which it connects the western zone to the rest of the country.

Last Updated on 12/18/2012




Which state in India has its own constitution? Jammu and Kashmir is the only Indian state which has its own constitution. The constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, which was adopted on 17 November 1956 and came into effect on 26 January… Read More...
Which state in India is the largest producer of milk?India, which is well-known for its dairy products, is the largest producer of milk, second only to United States (in terms of cow milk). The country produces nearly 50 to 60 million tonnes of milk every year and currently contributes around 9.5 percent of the global… Read More...
Which Indian state has the maximum number of major ports? Nearly 7,500 km long Indian coastline makes the country one of the largest peninsulas in the world. There are nine coastal Indian states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu,… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations