South Western Railway Zone

Map of South Western Railway Zone

South Western Railway Zone Map
Email Buy Now
*Map showing the South Western Railway Zone of India. Disclaimer

South Western Railway Zone

The South Western Railway (SWR) was first established on 1st April 2003. Its headquarters is located in Hubli in Karnataka. It includes three divisions: Hubli, Bangalore and Mysore. The South Western Railway Zone was created by merging the reorganized Hubli division from the South Central Railway with the Bangalore and Mysore divisions of the Southern Railway Zone. This railway zone has a total route of about 3177 km. The South Western railway network covers the state of Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa, Andhra Pradesh and parts of Tamil Nadu.

Some of the important trains operated on this zone are: Karnataka Express, Rani Chennamma Express, Jan Shatabdi Express, Udyan Express, Karnataka Sampark Kranti Express, Hampi Express, Shatabdi Express, Vasco Da Gama-Hazrat Nizamuddin Delhi Goa Express, etc. Future plans are taking place to lay more lines and introduce more trains in the SWR zone as the rail density is very less compared to other zones in India. Since 2007, the South Western railway zone is completely Indian gauge.

Last Updated on 12/12/2012