South Eastern Railway Zone

Map of South Eastern Railway Zone

South Eastern Railway Zone Map
Print Email Save Buy Now
*Map showing the South Eastern Railway Zone of India. Disclaimer

South Eastern Railway Zone

The previous name for South Eastern Zone was Bengal Nagpur Railways. Since the year 1887 to the year 2001, there have been a vast number of changes in the South East Zone, as far as its development is concerned. It has its headquarter at Garden Reach in Kolkata, West Bengal. The South East Zone was carved out from Bengal Nagpur Railways on 1st of August, 1955.


The South Eastern Zone consists of four divisions Adra Division, Chakradharpur Division, Kharagpur Workshop & Kharagpur Railway dissection and Ranchi Railway Division.

Yards and Locomotive

The Zone has multiple electric sheds located in Panskura and Tikiapara. The sheds meant for electric engines are in Bokaro Steel City, Santragachi, Tatanagar and Bondamunda. The yard for maintenance of coaches is constructed in Santragachi. Diesel locomotives are maintained in Kharagpur, Bondamunda, and Bokaro City. The main workshop of South Eastern Railways is established in Kharagpur. South Eastern Railways hold busy EMU service in the suburban areas of Kolkata including Howrah and Kharagpur, Tatanagar, Amta, Shalimar, and Santragachi. Most of the freight traffic to Kolkata is handled by the South Eastern Zone.

There are many trains being operated in the South Eastern Zone. A few of them are long distance trains, while some are intercity trains. The long distance trains include Chennai Howrah Mail (which runs between Howrah and capital of Tamil Nadu,) Coromandal Express (it also runs between Howrah and Chennai,) Gitanjali Express travels between Howrah and Mumbai, Koraput Express (which runs from Howrah to Koraput,) Puri Express (runs from Shalimar to Puri,) Vishakhapatnam Express (it runs from Shalimar to Vishakhapatnam) and many more.

The South Eastern Zone alone serves around 40% of the freight traffic of the total freight of Indian Railways, with just 12% of the total tracks. It generates the highest revenues of all the 16 zones of the Indian railways with its great developmental projects.

Last Updated on 12/18/2012




Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations